Login Window

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by mr?, Jan 13, 2007.

  1. mr? macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    #1
    Hey guys,
    I was just wondering if anyone knew the dimensions of the login window at startup. I have a Macbook but everytime i try and change the background of it, the image appears to be stretched. If someone can tell me how to take a photo of the window then i can show you.
    Thanks
    ?
     
  2. hopejr macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Location:
    New South Wales, Australia
    #2
    Depending on settings and number of users, it could be any height. The width is 470px.

    To take a picture of the login window, if you only have one user, add another. turn on fast user switching, and then select a user from the menu in the menubar. A login window will appear that you can do a screen dump of.
     
  3. mr? thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    #3
    Thanks. How do i take the screenshot though?? alt+command+3 does not work (and i have 2 users).
    Thanks
     
  4. mr? thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
  5. TheAnswer macrumors 68030

    TheAnswer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #5
    Apple-Shift-3 to take a picture of the whole screen or Apple-Shift-4 to get the crosshairs and drag to select a portion of the screen.
     
  6. mr? thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
  7. eluk macrumors 6502a

    eluk

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Location:
    East London, UK
    #7
    What are you expecting? There should be PNG files on your desktop. Numbered Picture1 etc.
     
  8. mr? thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    #8
    That is what i am expecting but it doesnt work
     
  9. bitabytex macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    #9
  10. hopejr macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Location:
    New South Wales, Australia
    #10
    You obviously didn't follow my instructions. argh!

    cmd+shift+3/4 works with what I said.
     
  11. dpaanlka macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #11
    Just to clear everybody up, I've seen three different names for this button, and only one was right (and one was way off).

    For my own sanity, everyone, please call it Command. That's the name of the button.
     

Share This Page