Logitech Precision Gamepad 2

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by quigleybc, Mar 19, 2006.

  1. quigleybc macrumors 68030

    quigleybc

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Location:
    Beautiful Vancouver British Columbia, Canada
    #1
    Hi there

    I've been suckered twice now by these "plug and play" gamepads. The latest one I just got is called the Precision gamepad from Logitech.

    Games don't recognize it at all. And on there site there is no mention of drivers for mac.

    Just wondering before I return it and give the guy from the mac store an earfull if anyone has any experience with this thing, and if there is something I'm missing.

    http://www.logitech.com/index.cfm/products/details/US/EN,CRID=2225,CONTENTID=9500

    I'm running 10.4.5

    Thanks.
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    I ran emulators just fine last year using that exact same pad. I had to use a sharware plug-in but it worked just fine. My Logitech® Extreme 3D Pro Joystick works just fine too. Check in System Profiler > USB if that gamepad shows up. What game are you trying to get it to work in?

    It was Plug & Play for me from 10.4.0 -10.4.3.
     
  3. quigleybc thread starter macrumors 68030

    quigleybc

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Location:
    Beautiful Vancouver British Columbia, Canada
    #3

    Well, ya it works with the older style games. But I need it to work with Stubbs the Zombie, and others.

    Doesn't show up.

    So, I took it back and got the wireless one, because I was told that I needed one with the "thumbsticks" which I now have.

    Still nothing. Stubbs the Zombie still can't recognize it. This one cost over 50 bucks...I'm pissed now.

    It is recoginzed in system profiler. And it wants to work, none of my games will let it work though...

    arghh..


    http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/searchtools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=1070788&Tab=11&NoMapp=
     
  4. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #4
    I'd contact Aspyr and see if they've tested any gamepads.
     
  5. quigleybc thread starter macrumors 68030

    quigleybc

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Location:
    Beautiful Vancouver British Columbia, Canada
    #5

    That's a good idea.

    I'll just take this one back too....odd that a fancy gamepad like the one I just got still won't work...makes me think that no gamepads will work no matter how snazzy and pricey they are.

    Oh well, I just hate playing games with the keyboard/Mouse. But such is life....

    Thanks for your reply's.

    :)
     
  6. quigleybc thread starter macrumors 68030

    quigleybc

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Location:
    Beautiful Vancouver British Columbia, Canada
    #6
    Thanks to USB Overdrive, I'm able to get around the game recognizing the gamepad.


    That app is great.

    saved the day.

    :)
     
  7. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #7
    Ooo, good tip. Did you have to pay for it?
     
  8. quigleybc thread starter macrumors 68030

    quigleybc

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Location:
    Beautiful Vancouver British Columbia, Canada
    #8

    yup, it's shareware, but the price is more than reasonable.

    It also good for extending the amount of options for my mighty mouse.

    I'm using my middle button now for all sorts of different things.
     
  9. SAdProZ macrumors 6502

    SAdProZ

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2005
    Location:
    Washington, DC
  10. supercres macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #10

Share This Page