All iPads Logitech ultra thin question

Discussion in 'iPad Accessories' started by Jachrist, Feb 15, 2013.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    #1
    Best buy has the ultra thin keyboard on sale this week. As I was looking at it in the store, it looked like a great idea and it felt comfortable to type on. BUT:

    Every set of reviews I have seen online is that the rubber strip in the slot that holds the ipad comes off after a relatively short time of usage. The leftover residue then gets on the ipad screen.

    My question is : why is it so popular then?

    Do you that have them simply deal with the glue residue? Is there some permanent fix that I haven't seen online yet?
     
  2. macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #2
    I have had zero problems with mine, and I love it
    Can't imagine using my iPad without it now
    It has drastically improved the usefulness of my iPad for me and my work
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    #3
    How long have you had your keyboard? Just curious.

    Thanks.
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Location:
    The Digital Frontier
    #4
    I use it to replace my laptop on certain days of the week, and during the night, I use it so I can watch my videos. I am must certainly going to buy it for the iPad mini.

    A little over two months for me.
     
  5. macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
  6. macrumors 68000

    likemyorbs

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    NJ
    #6
    How have you adjusted to the smaller keyboard? I just bought one on ebay for $75 for my ipad 3 and just started using it but I'm making a lot of typos. Also, is there anyway to make autocorrect work with a bluetooth keyboard?
     
  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Location:
    Trevose, PA
    #7
    On mine, the rubber strip started sliding up after two months. It was only mildly annoying at first, but the increasing bits of glue residue proved annoying. I eventually removed the strip, scraped out the remaining glue residue, and its worked fine since then.
     
  8. macrumors 68000

    likemyorbs

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    NJ
    #8
    Have you tried making Logitech replace it? Maybe they fixed that production issue later on and you have one of the earlier ones made.
     

Share This Page