Logitech Z-560 will not work on Power Mac G5 Quad

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by AngelDesign, Sep 23, 2009.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    #1
    Hello People,

    I am sure some one here has has this issue before. My Power Mac G5 Quad does not have a 5.1 sound card. I have been searching for a soundcard for my Power Mac G5 Quad and had NO LUCK. Some one told me to just buy a amp to hook up my Logitech Z-560 5.1 sounds speakers.

    Does anyone know what is the best way to tackle this problem?
    I don't understand why I can't find a Soundcard to take care of this problem.
    It seems like it's just the Power Mac G5 Quad that have this issue.

    Any experts out there please :(

    Angel
     
  2. macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #2
    What kind of signal does the Z-560 accept? What kind of connectors are on the unit?

    There is a very good chance you can use a USB or Firefire audio interface with the G5. Which one depends on answers to above.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    #3
    Logitech Z-560 will not work on Power Mac G5 Quad

    I know this is going to sound stupid but my Logitech z-560 speakers had 3 connectors that need to be hooked up. There is a Green connector, Pink connector and a Black connectors. My G5 only has one hook up for sound and that's about it. The connectors are just like a (example: earphones jack connectors.) Same deal. I hope I answered right.

    Thank you so much for even replying to my thread!!! Thank you
     
  4. macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #4
    So what's the problem? Why do you need a sound card? Just connect the G5's output the the Logitech's input.

    After suggesting a USB interface I just remembered that
    I just happen to have a G4 tower that has an M-Audio card inside. I'd sell the card at "market value". But maybe M-Audio still has some?

    So I look on the web and, it seems they have what yuo asked for. But why not just use the $2 cable?

    http://www.m-audio.com/index.php?do=media.new&ID=9bb8c6cb61392ab9b785ee01b645a739
     
  5. macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #5
    Sounds like you could simply use a cable. Connect the Mac's output to the speaker's input.

    If not a USB audio interface would work

    But I just remembered I have a G4 in a closet with a PCI Audio card inside. I'd sell the entire computer cheap and you could pull the card out. Or just the card if you want it, at "market price" But M-Audio may still sell these. Checking.....

    Yes they do. This is what I have in my G4
    http://www.m-audio.com/index.php?do=media.new&ID=9bb8c6cb61392ab9b785ee01b645a739

    But I think a $4 cable should work.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    #6
    I really appreciate all the help you guys are giving me REALLY!!!
    I tried just connecting to my G5 but only 2 speakers and wolfer
    work well. I have 5 speakers and wolfer that I want to work all
    together. 5.1 surround sound. I also have a G4 that has an
    M-Audio card that I tried to put into my G5. Does not fit not meant for
    G5 Quad. So I guess I'll try the cable first if that does not work
    then I would love to buy the soundcard M-Audio for a G5 Quad.

    I tried all my options first before I came here this way I wouldn't sound
    COMPLETELY STUPID :)

    But my G5 only has that 1-input connection and that's it.
     

Share This Page