Long start-up in OS 10.3.2/ freezing unknown error message

Discussion in 'macOS' started by snowjob, Nov 9, 2005.

  1. snowjob macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    #1
    I have just installed OS 10.3.2 on a G4 400 on top of OS 9.1.
    It takes a long time to boot up(5-7mins!!) and then it freezes often giving me the following error message. what does this mean??!?!?!?!?!?!

    panic(cpu 0): Unable to find driver for this platform: "PowerMac3, 1"/
    Latest start backtrace for cpu 0:
    Backtrace:
    0x000833B8 0x0008389C 0x0001ED8C 0x0026DCCC 0x0024E084 0x0024DE5C 0x0024E8D8 0x0024EF4C
    0x0023F104 0x0023F0C8
    Proceeding back via exception chain:
    Exception state (sv=0x0081F000)
    PC=0x00000000; MSR=0x0000D030; DAR=0x00000000; DSISR=0x00000000; LR=0x00000000; R1=0x00000000; XCP=0x000000000 (Unknown)
    Kernal version:
    Darwin Kernal Version 7.2.0:
    Thu Dec 11 16:20:23 PST 2003; root:xnu/xnu-517.3.7.obj~1/RELEASE_PPC
    No debugger configured - dumping information
    MSR=00001030
    Latest stack backtrace for cpu 0:
    Backtrace:
    0x000833B8 0x0008389C 0x0001ED8C 0x0026DCCC 0x0024E084 0x0024DE5C 0x0024E8D8 0x0024EF4C
    0x0023F104 0x0023F0C8
    Proceeding back via exception chain:
    Exception state (sv=0x0081F000)
    PC=0x00000000; MSR=0x0000D030; DAR=0x00000000; DSISR=0x00000000; LR=0x00000000; R1=0x00000000; XCP=0x000000000 (Unknown)
    Kernal version:
    Darwin Kernal Version 7.2.0:
    Thu Dec 11 16:20:23 PST 2003; root:xnu/xnu-517.3.7.obj~1/RELEASE_PPC
    Panic: we are hanging here...
     
  2. Nuc macrumors 6502a

    Nuc

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Location:
    TN
    #2
    update

    Why not update to 10.3.9 and see what it does. That is if you can update without it freezing on you.

    Nuc
     
  3. snowjob thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    #3

    Cause 10.3.6 is the latest version I can run that is compatible with my soundcard at the moment....(Pro Tools with Digi 001)
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    I'm hopeless at reading those crash logs but I don't understand why you can't then update to 10.3.6. :)

    Is OS9 running normally?
     
  5. 840quadra Moderator

    840quadra

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Location:
    Twin Cities Minnesota
    #5
    Could be a memory issue (not too uncommon)

    How many Memory slots do you have filled?

    If this is a G4 and you have more then 2 DIMMs, try to take all the memory out except for the DIMM in Slot 0 (or 1 possibly) and see how the system boots. If it fails again, Pull that DIMM and place one of the other DIMMs in that slot and try to boot again.

    ::EDIT::
    IT is a G4, Thanks mad jew for pointing this out.. :)
     
  6. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #6
    It's a G4 (400MHz) and I think it's dual-booting OS9. :)
     
  7. 840quadra Moderator

    840quadra

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Location:
    Twin Cities Minnesota
    #7
    I didn't see the System Specs at the top of his post until now!

    Must be all of that hexadecimal code! :D
     
  8. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #8
    Fair enough. It took me about three goes to work out what was happening and I still haven't got anywhere. That post really messes with your eyes. :p

    Just out of interest, supposing it can boot OS9 properly, does that mean that it's not the memory issue? Does it change anything?
     
  9. 840quadra Moderator

    840quadra

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Location:
    Twin Cities Minnesota
    #9
    I am not 100% sure in regards to that question.

    Personal experience
    On my Dual 533 I only had Kernel panics while running one type of program, and doing one action within that program. When I pulled some of the memory (not as a troubleshooting step but, to "borrow" memory from that system for another) the issue disappeared and my other system started to act weird.

    What it all boils down to, is it all depends on how the system software uses memory, and what memory addresses are being utilized by the applications running on it. At my work we will occasionally see lots of memory errors ( I work in a Data Center with over 1000 Servers) where a single DIMM will cause one system to act strange in one program, and act fine in others. Other times you can swap that DIMM into an other system and see no such errors, or a completely new issue altogether. Memory can be a fun component to work with at times :).
     
  10. snowjob thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    #10
    Thanks for the insight fellas....

    The boot volume is small (10 GB) with only 1.5 GB headroom. How much does OS X need (or like to have)?

    9 & 10 both boot up and run fairly normally (except for OS X taking a long time). Perhaps it is a RAM issue. Are there any diagnostics I can run to determine which DIMM is the problem?
     
  11. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #11
    1.5GB free space really is not enough for OSX. Ideally, you'd have about 8GB+ free but with a 10GB drive that's obviously not possible. Aim for more though, newer operating system require quite a lot of free space to use for Virtual RAM. As for the DIMMs, sorry but I can't help you there other than to say maybe try trial-and-error. :eek:

    Hopefully we'll get this sorted soon. :)

    Oh, and why no 10.3.6?
     
  12. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #12
    You should be booting holding down Cmd-V (for verbose booting) to see WHERE it is KPing. Also, this looks very suspicious to me:

    "panic(cpu 0): Unable to find driver for this platform: "PowerMac3, 1"/"

    From where did you get the installer for Panther? Retail Generic version?
     
  13. zimtheinvader macrumors regular

    zimtheinvader

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    the capitol
    #13
    I have this EXACT problem trying to install 10.4 Tiger on my G4 400 single gigabit ethernet.

    I have the Tiger install DVD I purchased directly from Apple, and it works flawlessly on my PB 12" 1.33... what is going on????....
     
  14. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #14
    Are you up to date on the firmware for that Mac?
     

Share This Page