look like the Intel CPU can be replace

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by SLJ, May 17, 2006.

  1. SLJ macrumors regular

    SLJ

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Location:
    Australia
    #1
    base on the pictures that we saw of Macbook, look like the Intel CPU can be replace easy, as long as the chipset will support future CPU... interesting... i wonder if I could upgrade the MBP CPU as well... very interesting move
     
  2. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #2
    NO it cant. It's not socketed it's soldered onto the MB just like the MBP.

    iMAC and MacMini use proper socketed CPU and hence can be upgraded to Core2Duo...
     
  3. Mord macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    err, no it's soldered to the board just like the macbook pro, no doubt 3rd partys will offer upgrade services where they remove the cpu and solder on a new one but without the proper equipment it cant be done.
     
  4. Spanky Deluxe macrumors 601

    Spanky Deluxe

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #4
  5. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #5
    LOL! I love the macrumors speed reply race...... Gold, Silver & Bronze fellars. :D :D
     
  6. milo macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    #6
    People have already confirmed that the MB has a soldered processor and can't be replaced.

    And it's been known for months that the MPB is soldered, no replacements either.

    The processor can only be replaced on the iMac and mini.
     
  7. Spanky Deluxe macrumors 601

    Spanky Deluxe

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #7
    What's crazy is that nobody replied in three quarters of an hour. Then three replies in one minute.
     
  8. ImNoSuperMan macrumors 65816

    ImNoSuperMan

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    #8
    I wonder what wonders would(or could) a Merom in MB can do. Not to forget it has intel GMA inbuilt which cant be replaced eith anything at all. Thereby the biggest bottleneck. So it eems like a waste of time and money even if it was possible. I`d rather sell the current laptop and buy a new one than replacing the Chip instead. Seems like a much easier n sensible option to me.
     
  9. dr_lha macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    #9
    Where does this attitude come from that somehow the Graphics chip is the only important thing on the computer? GMA 950 will only be a "bottleneck" if you want a faster CPU for gaming, if you want a faster CPU for other reasons, it will work great.
     
  10. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #10
    LOL! Just like busses!!
     
  11. ImNoSuperMan macrumors 65816

    ImNoSuperMan

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    #11

    What I meant was will a merom in MB really make a difference as they already have top of the line Yonahs in them. Changing it in MBP seems like a good choice. As the tasks which MBP is supposed to do (like Pro Apps, Gaming etc) can certainly benefit from a faster processor. But MB is for casual home use. And it`s already 5 times more powerful than most of us will ever need. Except for may be gaming. A home user will most probably have gaming as his most CPU intensive task. Now even though Merom will definitely fair better in games than Yonah. The fact that MB has integrated Grafix; There wont be any real noticable difference between the two MB.(ie One with Yonah and Other with Merom)

    The only reason I can justify for changing a CPU in MB could be Leopard`s support for 64 bit computing. ie leopard really makes a big difference by optimizing for 64Bit when compared to 32Bit yonahs. Otherwise I dont think I`ll go for a CPU upgrade just coz safari loads up .004 seconds faster with the new Chip.

    On Second thoughts; even if Leopard is much better on Merom than yonah, I`d still wont change the CPU of my MB(if I could). I`ll probably sell it off and get a newer MB which will definitely have more bells and whistles than just a cpu upgrade.

    EDIT: This is just my opinion. You may have other requirements than I do though.
     
  12. dr_lha macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    #12
    Merom is supposedly 20% faster than Yonah with the same CPU speed, so its not just the 64bit-ness of Merom that is the improvement.

    Still, I agree with your point that most users will not require much more CPU speed. Personally I find my 1.5Ghz Core Solo to be a very fast machine for the price. a 2.0Ghz Core Duo is an amazing chip to have in a "low end" laptop.

    EDIT: BTW - I plan to upgrade to a Merom (Core Duo 2, whatever) in the future, assuming it does work in the mini, but I have pretty high requirements for CPU speed that are no related to GFX.
     
  13. vgoklani macrumors regular

    vgoklani

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    #13
    the big issue is RAM, i can only put 2Gs of ram in my macbook pro - i need more!!!
     
  14. odedia macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    #14
    Actually, chances are that you'll be able to put 4Gb of RAM in it with no problems. 2GB SO-DIMM sticks are already avaliabe, but they are VERY expensive (about 2000$ just for 2 sticks of RAM). It will come down in price in the end, and will be affordable.

    Oded S.
     

Share This Page