Look up in Dictionary in contextual menu!!!

Discussion in 'macOS' started by beatle888, Jul 31, 2005.

  1. beatle888 macrumors 68000

    beatle888

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    #1
    wow.

    i just highlighted a word in my browser window and contextual clicked on it and selected "Look up in Dictionary".

    very nice.
     
  2. Sean7512 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2005
    #2
    I gets even better...Hold down all at once these keys: Apple, Control, and D. Then move your mouse over a word. Hows that for wow??!!
     
  3. beatle888 thread starter macrumors 68000

    beatle888

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    #3
    :D


    FUN.


    where is this documented? maybe i need to read up a bit.
     
  4. Sean7512 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2005
    #4
    Not sure...I know that there are a few threads about stuff like this, just not sure where they are, just look around...tons of tricks are hidden in here scattered about.
     
  5. Daveway macrumors 68040

    Daveway

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Location:
    New Orleans / Lafayette, La
  6. sethypoo macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA, USA
    #6
    But hey, at least they came! :)
     
  7. inlimbo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #7
    I take this is a Tiger feature?!?!?
     
  8. Daveway macrumors 68040

    Daveway

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Location:
    New Orleans / Lafayette, La
    #8
    yep.
     
  9. Abstract macrumors Penryn

    Abstract

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Location:
    Location Location Location
  10. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #10
    i heard about it only a little while ago myself....

    on another note, anyone know what apps this works in? i know Safari but what other ones? is is limited or System wide?
     
  11. Applespider macrumors G4

    Applespider

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    looking through rose-tinted spectacles...
    #11
    IIRC, it works in any Cocoa applications but not the Carbon ones.
     
  12. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #12
    That's right. It comes in handy in apps like Mail, Adium, Conversation and TextWrangler. I think that as long as the app supports OS X native spellchecking it also supports the Dictionary "trick". :)

    Edit: He-he, it even works on "open" text fields in iTunes... :D
     
  13. beatle888 thread starter macrumors 68000

    beatle888

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    #13
    UPDATE

    i just noticed that if you dont have the dictionary prefs set correctly it wont display as a small window. check it out.

    In the dictionary application set prefs as below.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Lacero macrumors 604

    Lacero

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #14
    And if you continue holding down Control+Command, you can mouse over other words to get their definitions.
     
  15. beatle888 thread starter macrumors 68000

    beatle888

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    #15


    insane.



    but i hope everyones useing that preference i mentioned cause this mini tabbed window pops up instead of the large dictionary application launcing.
     
  16. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #16
    That's for the context menu you get when ctrl/right-click (edit: you also have to mark the word, which you don't need with the ctrl-cmd-D). Shouldn't affect the ctrl-cmd-D way of getting the panel. I actually prefer to have the panel come up with ctrl-cmd-D and the Dictionary.app to launch from the context menu. It gives me more flexibility... :)
     
  17. beatle888 thread starter macrumors 68000

    beatle888

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    #17
    thanks Mitthrawnuruodo. that does give you options and both of them are quick. any other gems? i cant believe how perfect that works/looks. does windows do anything close? this is just as cool as spotlight in its own way. ok, i'll stop posting about this. it just looks so good and works perfectly.
     
  18. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #18
    thank you very much for letting me know, i guess thats why it doesnt work with Camnio....
     
  19. Plymouthbreezer macrumors 601

    Plymouthbreezer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #19
    Definitely one of the best features in Tiger. I've used this more in the past few months then any other new feature I think.
     
  20. vniow macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    I accidentally my whole location.
    #20
    Camino is Cocoa, just the current builds don't support it. Its on the roadmap however.
     

Share This Page