looking for a new digital camera

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by chibianh, May 16, 2005.

1. chibianh macrumors 6502a

chibianh

I know we have a few photography buffs here on MacRumors so i thought I'd come here asking for advice. I had an older Nikon point and shoot camera that recently stopped working and I'm in the market for a new digital camera.

I want something more than just a point and shoot type camera. But I am by no means an expert photographer. I just want something I can take decent to high quality pictures with (close ups, long exposures, etc.), but can take with me on vacation to do some point and shoot.

Would anyone have any recommendations? My knowledge of digital cameras and cameras in general is very limited, but I would like to learn and get more into photography. I will be doing some research myself as well. Thanks.

2. chibianh thread starter macrumors 6502a

chibianh

Thanks. How do you like that camera? I assume you do professional photography for a living as that camera costs more than my car and unless I win the lottery, I will not be able to afford one.

3. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

mkrishnan

*shakes head* :rolleyes: Nice new avatar, though, Gary! :)