Looking For A Power Mac 7100/80

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Apples555, Mar 5, 2012.

  1. Apples555, Mar 5, 2012
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2012

    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    #1
    EDIT: My issue has been resolved!

    Major thanks to all of you. You have all been very helpful.
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    #2
    What's wrong with it? That Mac is only 17 years old. Have you been taking good care of it? Tell us what it's doing wrong any maybe we can help you sort it out. It's probably something simple.
     
  3. Apples555, Mar 5, 2012
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2012

    thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    #3
    See Post #1.
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    #4
    That's harsh. I take really good care of mine too, but I made that same mistake once. I feel your pain. Well, dang. I guess I agree. Even changing the motherboard doesn't guarantee a fix here.

    The Marketplace section is here. I've never messed around with it, but I think you need a minimum number of posts before you're allowed to use it. Maybe someone else will correct me on that.

    If someone has one of these that's not in use, it's hard to imagine that they wouldn't be happy to give it a good home. I'd also post on Craig's List and Freecycle.org.
     
  5. Apples555, Mar 5, 2012
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2012

    thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    #5
    See Post #1.
     
  6. macrumors 68000

    Hrududu

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Location:
    Wichita KS
    #6
    I've got a 7100/66 but I wanna say its baked too. Unlike a Windows PC you can pull out that hard drive and drop it into another mac that supports the OS installed and it'll work. You aren't necessarily limited to a 7100.
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    #7
    That's a good point. Are we talking about specific hardware that requires a NuBus slot? If not, that makes things easier. If so, there is no guarantee that the lightening didn't also damage it. When it hit my house and got my Mac it also zapped me on the buttocks and literally knocked me on the floor. I was also tripping on acid--Which really just made things worse (or, at least, seem worse). Not much that was plugged in survived on that day. Was anything else damaged when it struck?
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    #8
    Same thing happened to my new-ish TV over the summer. I took the back off of it, and found that the fuse on the input blew, so I went out to radioshack and for $3 I fixed the TV

    It's probably worth a shot to check out the fuses in the power supply ;)
     
  9. Apples555, Mar 5, 2012
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2012

    thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    #9
    See Post #1.
     
  10. macrumors G4

    Lord Blackadder

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Location:
    Sod off
    #10
    Welcome to the forums!

    You're probably best off expanding your search to include all of the NuBus-equipped Power Macs, as it will be easier to find a solution. An 8100 would be a little faster, and not any more expensive these days. A 6100 would be slower but I imagine it would still work OK. For what it's worth, there are a number of these machines on ebay now, including at least one 7100/80.

    If the Audiomedia II NuBus card is fragged then you're in bigger touble, they are obviously less common than the PowerMacs themselves. You will then have to find an equivalent card...and PCI cards are much more common than NuBus cards. In that case you might consider getting something newer (like a G3 desktop/tower) since a G3 is probably not any more expensive than an earlier PPC machine and is easier to find parts for.

    As an aside, many of these old Macs are cheap enough that it might make sense to buy two of them, so as to have a backup machine or a parts source. And while you're at it, it wouldn't hurt to shop for a decent UPS, that should prevent another lightning damage incident and can be used with any computer, so no upgrade worries.

    Good luck!
     
  11. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    #11
    They have fuses. Be very careful, though, if you decide to take the PSU apart. Capacitors can store enough electricity to stop a human heart. If that last sentence makes you feel uncomfortable, seek the help of a friend who might do this sort of thing for a living.
     
  12. Apples555, Mar 6, 2012
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2012

    thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    #12
    See Post #1.
     
  13. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    #13
    I have an original 7.1.2 CD I don't have any use for anymore. You can have it for the postage it will cost to mail it to you. Can't help with the Logic 2.0 though.

    BTW, do you live in Michigan? The reason I ask is because I sold a 7100/80 in 1999 to someone with the same nubus audio requirements as you. Probably just a coincidence, but I had to ask.

    Send me a private message if you're interested in the System CD. Good luck with the rest of your hunt.
     
  14. Apples555, Mar 6, 2012
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2012

    thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    #14
    See Post #1.
     
  15. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    Portugal
    #15
  16. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    #16
    Your not being able to send me a private message was my fault. I'm pretty new here on this forum and had the private messages preferences set too restrictive. I've reset the prefs and sent you a PM on this.
     
  17. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    #17
  18. Apples555, Mar 6, 2012
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2012

    thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    #18
    See Post #1.
     
  19. Apples555, Mar 7, 2012
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2012

    thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    #19
    See Post #1.
     
  20. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    Portugal
    #20
    try lemswap for sure there are lots of guys there that can help you find or sell the hardware/software that you need.
     
  21. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    #21
    The most obvious things seems to be eluding me lately. Lemswap is an excellent suggestion.

    Indeed. Kudos to archtopshop. How very excellent of you!
     
  22. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    #22
    At the risk of suggesting a non-solution, have you considered a slightly newer mac and audio interface? If my memory serves, you can run Logic 4.x on 603/604 PPCs with an eMagic AudioWerk card (or something similar) and still open your 2.x projects. Also, a PCI bus would open up a number of options as far as audio interfaces go, and anything pre-G3 should have a serial interface so your Opcode box would still be usable.

    That potential lack of help out of the way, I can't do much in the way of Logic 2.x, but I think I could sort out a 4.x version of Logic if that would be of any help. (I also have a 7100/66 and 7.1 on hand if either would be of use.)
     
  23. Apples555, Mar 8, 2012
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2012

    thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    #23
    See Post #1.
     
  24. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    Portugal
    #24
    You have a download link from apple, wouldn't that work?!
    Have you tried lemswap?
     
  25. Apples555, Mar 8, 2012
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2012

    thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    #25
    See Post #1.
     

Share This Page