Looking for the "enable TRIM" command lines.

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by Zandra with Z, Oct 20, 2012.

  1. Zandra with Z, Oct 20, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2012

    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012
    #1
    I just bought the Samsung 830 128GB SSD and I want to enable TRIM in OS X Mountain Lion.

    Some sites claim that this is the correct command line:

    sudo cp /System/Library/Extensions/IOAHCIFamily.kext/Contents/PlugIns/IOAHCIBlockStorage.kext/Contents/MacOS/IOAHCIBlockStorage /System/Library/Extensions/IOAHCIFamily.kext/Contents/PlugIns/IOAHCIBlockStorage.kext/Contents/MacOS/IOAHCIBlockStorage.original


    While others claim that this is the right command line:

    sudo cp /System/Library/Extensions/IOAHCIFamily.kext/Contents/PlugIns/IOAHCIBlockStorage.kext/Contents/MacOS/IOAHCIBlockStorage /IOAHCIBlockStorage.original

    Which is it?
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    borostef

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    #2
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    #4
  5. macrumors 6502

    borostef

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    #5
    I am not saying that you are wrong, but I have seen on some forums that people had problems with Trim enabler application... Something to do with slow system boot and some other problems.
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    #6
    I've never had any issues with TRIM enabler. You just have to keep up with new versions (system updates will disable it).

    The guy that does the app is a regular poster here, I think.
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    Samsung 830 512Gb user here.
    No issues with Trim Enabler whatsoever.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012
    #8
    I have installed the SSD and followed the steps in the link and... taaa-daaa... trim is enabled. :)
     
  9. macrumors 6502

    borostef

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    #9
    I am glad that it worked... Well, why shouldn't it;)
    You just have to remember that you need to repeat the procedure after OSX updates... From 10.8.2 to 10.8.3 and so on...
     

Share This Page