Looking to buy an iBook

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by AlbinoPigeon, Jan 9, 2004.

1. AlbinoPigeon macrumors member

Hello All! I am in the market for a new 12" iBook. I wanted to buy it a couple months ago, but I decided to wait until MWSF just incase there was something as non-earthshaking as a proce drop.

With MWSF secrets now out, and no iBook announcement, I was wondering if now was the time to buy?

I have been stalling for sometime now, to insure I wouldn't miss a price drop or revision by a couple of days. People have said for me to just shut up and buy the damn thing, but I just cant until I get some indication from this savvy community that there wont be any iBook news for a while.

So if anyone sees a potential announcement in the next month re: iBook, please voice! I am a poor lowly student who really needs a laptop, but doesn't want to get burned by missing a price drop!

HELP!

BTW: specs i'm looking at...

12"
    60GB HD upgrade
    AirPort Card upgrade

Thanks!

2. Diatribe macrumors 601

Diatribe

The 12" below the price it currently has?
    I don't think that we are going to see that. And for speed bumps, According to rumors Apple is trying, which makes sense, to differentiate the 12" iBook more from the 12" Powerbook. So unless we are seeing a G5 Powerbook soon and the iBook gets the higher G4s there is NO reason why they should upgrade an iBook that pretty much just came out, considering the marginal difference to the Powerbook right now.
    I just bought a new 12" iBook with 60GB, AP and BT. The time does not get any better to buy it. So go ahead and buy it. You won't regret it.

3. AlbinoPigeon thread starter macrumors member

Thanks...just one question about BT. I dont have any BT devices now, nor do I think I might. What did you add BT for. Is it a feature you think everyone should have? ie: future technologies?

4. SilentPanda Moderator emeritus

SilentPanda