Losing monitor resolution settings during sleep

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by gfroyle, Apr 10, 2005.

  1. gfroyle macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    #1
    I'm using a Mac Mini (running 10.3.8) connected to an old View Sonic E95 monitor. No problems except that every time I leave the computer for a while it goes to sleep and "forgets" what display it is connected to. When I hit a key or whatever to reawaken it, the display resolution has been re-set to "VGA 800x600" and I have to tell it to "Detect Display" again..

    Any clues? I have looked on the forums and Google with no success ..

    Thanks

    gordon
     
  2. LadyK macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    #2
    I'm having exactly the same problem... any ideas folks?...:confused:
     
  3. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #3
  4. Matthew Yohe macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    #4
    You dug up a 5 year old thread :)

    Have you tried setting the video settings, and then doing a reboot? Then letting it sleep?
     
  5. LadyK macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    #5
    I know! but I've done well to get a reply :D

    The Mac's at home so I'll get all the info then... I do know I'm running a G5 tower with OS X 10.5 and the 'monitor' is actually a redundant widescreen /flat screen Proline TV. Get back to you both later. Thanks guys...
     
  6. LadyK macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    #6
    I'm running a Power Mac G5 with OS X 10.5.8 and the 'monitor' is a Proline 19" LCD TV + DVD Model no. LVD198W.

    The only way I can get what I want is when I click on Detect Displays and it automatically it sets to 1440 x 900 which is perfect but I need to do this every time I turn the monitor back on from Standby.

    The connector is... ermmm... VGA I think - it's held in with the screw things either side????

    Don't understand/know how I could check the video settings as suggested?

    I have rebooted the computer....

    Any ideas?

    Karina
     
  7. LadyK macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    #7
    anyone out there - would I be better posting this in another forum?

    Karina
     

Share This Page