Lost internet connection

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by Stormyguy, Sep 17, 2004.

1. Stormyguy macrumors regular

Hi

I have 3 macs & 1 PC on my network here - all connected by ethernet cables except my PB which is airport via airport express. All of a sudden this afternoon my desktop iMac (G3 10.2.8) has just stopped accessing the internet for anything - no web access, no e-mail, can't get software updates. In Sharing i'm told I have an active connection to the internet over Built in Ethernet but it will just not do anything internet-based. The machine is connected to the network (I can look in my shared folders on othe machines) and the router is giving it an IP address.

I am no expert (hence the post) but I cannot for the life of me figure out what's happened - I don't remember turning on anything or clicking anything or whatever so any suggestion gratefully received. Sure it's something very simple so apologies in advance!

PS - Yes I've tried the cable in my PB and the PB gets the juice, also tried the Mac at another station and still no connection so it's something with this particular Mac for sure....?

Thanks in advance guys
    Danny

2. emw macrumors G4

emw

Almost sounds like a DNS issue. That is, you have an IP address but can't look up anything by name. Do your other boxes have DNS entries in Network Preferences and the iMac doesn't?

Also, if you try to get to http://64.233.167.99/ (which is Google), does it work, or do you get the same error?

3. Stormyguy thread starter macrumors regular

emw

yes I get the google homepage up no worries.....

this mac (the problem one) has entries in the DNS boxes - I don't think the others do (but one is OS9, other is a PC so not sure where to look but these two ARE working OK).

4. Stormyguy thread starter macrumors regular

OK, my PB definitely has nothing in the DNS boxes in sys prefs

5. emw macrumors G4

emw