Lost my 4 gigs

Discussion in 'iPod' started by Taylor233, Oct 11, 2006.

  1. Taylor233 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    #1
    Hey all, I recently Bought a Chinese 4 gig Ipod. I have started to put songs on it. after around 15 songs it just lost all its memory and said i have 1 Mb left. I dont know why and i certenly have not used that much room
    so help would be appreciated.
     
  2. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #2
    What do you mean by "Chinese" 4 gig Ipod? Is it a knock-off?

    What format are your songs in?
     
  3. Taylor233 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    #3
    I dont think it is, My Grandfather bought it when he was in China. I had trouble figuring it out at first, But after I got it to work, It just lost all of its memory.
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    Is it new? I'd just try restoring it through iTunes if it's a used model. :)
     
  5. Taylor233 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    #5
    Ok. I dont know how to restore it though so I will look right now.
     
  6. gauchogolfer macrumors 603

    gauchogolfer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Location:
    American Riviera
    #6
    When you connect it to a machine with iTunes 7 installed, a restore button is front and center in the main window. Try that first.
     
  7. Taylor233 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    #7
    I think i have Itoons 7 but it says an update is availible,so im going to get that first.
     
  8. Taylor233 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    #8
    Ok, so no its apperently Not compatible with Itunes. Is there another way to Restore it.
     
  9. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #9
    Sounds like a knock-off. Can you post a pic of it? Especially with the screen on.

    Looks like your grandfather got taken for a ride...sorry. :(
     
  10. Taylor233 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    #10
    I'm sorry to ask this but i cannot figure out how to add an image.
     
  11. gauchogolfer macrumors 603

    gauchogolfer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Location:
    American Riviera
    #11
    When you start a new post, click on 'manage attachments'. This gives you a place to upload image files of the appropriate size.
    Alternatively you can link to files hosted on external servers like imageshack or photobucket.
     
  12. Taylor233 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    #12
    i think the PIc is here
     

    Attached Files:

  13. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #13
    Oh yeah...that's not an iPod at all. It's a fake.

    We won't be able to help...it won't work with iTunes and it likely doesn't have 4 GB of memory in it anyway. Sorry. :(

    Edit: Here's a pic of a real one.

    nano_fntandside_blk.jpg
     
  14. Taylor233 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    #14
    so the logical answer would be to dump it and buy a nano or somthing like that.
     
  15. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
  16. kondspi macrumors regular

    kondspi

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Location:
    NC
    #16
    It seems really cool for an imitation iPod. I'll buy it!
     
  17. Me1000 macrumors 68000

    Me1000

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
  18. Taylor233 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    #18
    The funny thing is, Windows Recognizes 4.0 gigs on it, but says 3.5 have been used. (now that i deleted unwanted songs)

    Edit-So I'm thinking that theres some file in there that is taking up lots of room.
     
  19. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #19
    It looks a bit like this knock-off, but it's not exactly the same.

    Congratulations if it actually has 4 GB of space on it...it'll be interesting to see what it can do. It certainly won't play songs purchased through iTunes. It might play MP3s, and maybe WMAs. It almost certainly won't work with a Mac.

    Did it come with any sort of restore disc? Can you navigate to any directories on it through Windows and see what's there?
     
  20. Taylor233 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    #20
    Yes it came with a disk, But it is not in a Recognizable Format. And yes I can go through the directories in it.
     
  21. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #21
    Can you find any files on it that would account for the space?

    Sorry...I'm not a Windows guy, so I can't really help you figure it out.
     
  22. Me1000 macrumors 68000

    Me1000

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
  23. Taylor233 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    #23
    1st Question- No i do not see any files that are huge on it... I have heard about files that are unseen, and hog Hard drive space.


    2nd Question- I don't know the format it did not say.
     
  24. Me1000 macrumors 68000

    Me1000

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    #24
    Plug it into your PC, then goto my computer and find it there. Right click it and goto properties, then screenshot it for us, Please. :)
     
  25. Taylor233 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    #25
    Ok this is it.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page