Lost My Job Today

Discussion in 'Community' started by toaster_oven, Jan 3, 2005.

1. toaster_oven macrumors regular

hi-

yet another macrumors member to add to the list, although i didn't get demoted. I was laid off... due to my office having financial troubles (now down to one full-time employee, one part-time). This is the fourth time i've been laid off in 2 years (all for the same reason- money. i sure pick winners to work for... but that's another story, more about the state of my field). I have a feeling i'll find something within a few months, but it really stinks. i graduated from college 3 years ago, but you wouldn't think that one should have 7 different jobs during that time...

today i'm taking it a little easy- trying to take care of a few things i've been meaning to do for the past couple months. I guess in a sense i need to take care of myself mentally before i hit the pavement yet again.

on the up-side, i can ask for more money when i interview... i've been notoriously underpaid in all my jobs. maybe now i'll get up enough courage to ask for what i am actually worth.

-TO

2. Sir_Giggles macrumors 6502a

Sir_Giggles

Remember to smile. say their name. and always talk in their interests, not your own. good luck.

3. jsw Moderator emeritus

jsw

Best of luck to you - and I'm happy to see that you'll be asking for what you're worth this next time around.

What field are you in, and what area of the country?

4. wdlove macrumors P6

wdlove

That is very sad news toaster_oven. I wish you the best of luck. Such a difficult thing to have happen on the first working day of the New Year. Having a good attitude about this is very important.

5. MacDawg macrumors P6

MacDawg

As a fellow alumni of the "lost my job today" club, my heart goes out to you. I feel your pain. Glad to see you are approaching it with a positive attitude. That will serve you well.