Lost remote

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by JoshMKB24, Jan 6, 2013.

  1. macrumors 6502

    JoshMKB24

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    Messages:
    375
    Location:
    Midwest
    #1
    I'm assuming my only solution is buying a new one? I do have the remote app so its not that big of a deal. I looked on Apple's website and they didn't have anything besides schedule a call. Didn't really feel like scheduling a call for something I'm pretty sure they won't just send me a new one :)
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    279
    Location:
    texas
    #2

    yea buy a new one.. i dont assume u were expecting them to send u one for free?
     
  3. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    22,671
    Location:
    located
    #3
    Since you lost it, it is not Apple's responsibility to get you a new one, for that you have to spend the 19 USD or less, if you find it used on eBay.
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2012
    Messages:
    170
    #4
    A universal remote will work too, such as a Logitech Harmony series, that's what I use on my Apple TV.
     
  5. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    125
    #5
    Misread your post- never mind thanks
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    957
    #6
    I need the "find my remote" app.
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    JoshMKB24

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    Messages:
    375
    Location:
    Midwest
    #7
    Nah, I was seeing what other options were out there. However I saw the suggestion of using a Logitech universal remote. I have the Harmony 1, so I'll probably try to sync that up. Thanks!
     
  8. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    209
    #8
    The Apple TV works great with the harmony remotes.
     
  9. macrumors 68010

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    2,003
    #9
    I guess nobody has actually looked for alternative remote in this thread besides the universal route.

    You can actually "train" any remote to work with ATV under Settings. I have my Comcast remote working as ATV remote right now under aux function, albeit it sucks because it would still work when it isn't under aux function.
     
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    #10
    Any remote with up-down-left-right, select and menu buttons will work with ATV. I have put my ATV remote in the drawer since day one. Why do you waste the remote battery while any TV remotes or old VCR, DVD will do just fine? iOS remote apps can get ATV learn the 'new' remote control in no time.
     
  11. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,448
    #11
    My ATV didn't need to "learn" my Harmony One. Once programmed it just worked...
     
  12. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2012
    Messages:
    170
    #12
    same
     
  13. macrumors 68010

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    2,003
    #13
    When you pay over $100 for a remote, it better do more than what a simple IR remote would do just fine if all you need is a simple remote replacement.
     
  14. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    95
    #14
    The old remotes that were included mith mac minis and imacs works too. Found out by accident.
     
  15. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    252
    Location:
    Cittagazze
    #15
    I find this thread funny. We opened our Apple TV3 on Christmas morning and lost the remote about 3 hours later. We found it in the cushions of the couch, but it disappeared again a couple days later. We still haven't found that thing. However, while looking for it, I found an older remote that came with the mac mini and realized that...
    And ultimately it didn't matter because...
    That was my experience too.

    We also unwrapped an iPad 4 that morning and have been using the Remote app. So eventually, we'll stumble across the ATV remote...and toss it in the drawer with the rest of the unused ones.
     
  16. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    279
    Location:
    texas
    #16
    cool story. enjoyed it. haha
     
  17. macrumors 65816

    designs216

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,035
    Location:
    Down the rabbit hole
    #17
    Buying a new one is only surefire means of locating the old remote :D
     

Share This Page