Lost remote

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by JoshMKB24, Jan 6, 2013.

  1. JoshMKB24 macrumors 6502a

    JoshMKB24

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    Location:
    Midwest
    #1
    I'm assuming my only solution is buying a new one? I do have the remote app so its not that big of a deal. I looked on Apple's website and they didn't have anything besides schedule a call. Didn't really feel like scheduling a call for something I'm pretty sure they won't just send me a new one :)
     
  2. wharzhee macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    texas
    #2

    yea buy a new one.. i dont assume u were expecting them to send u one for free?
     
  3. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #3
    Since you lost it, it is not Apple's responsibility to get you a new one, for that you have to spend the 19 USD or less, if you find it used on eBay.
     
  4. Beelzbub macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2012
    #4
    A universal remote will work too, such as a Logitech Harmony series, that's what I use on my Apple TV.
     
  5. lali macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
  6. s15119 macrumors 65816

    s15119

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
  7. JoshMKB24 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    JoshMKB24

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    Location:
    Midwest
    #7
    Nah, I was seeing what other options were out there. However I saw the suggestion of using a Logitech universal remote. I have the Harmony 1, so I'll probably try to sync that up. Thanks!
     
  8. MarkG21 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    #8
    The Apple TV works great with the harmony remotes.
     
  9. CocoaPuffs macrumors 68010

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    #9
    I guess nobody has actually looked for alternative remote in this thread besides the universal route.

    You can actually "train" any remote to work with ATV under Settings. I have my Comcast remote working as ATV remote right now under aux function, albeit it sucks because it would still work when it isn't under aux function.
     
  10. lv99 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    #10
    Any remote with up-down-left-right, select and menu buttons will work with ATV. I have put my ATV remote in the drawer since day one. Why do you waste the remote battery while any TV remotes or old VCR, DVD will do just fine? iOS remote apps can get ATV learn the 'new' remote control in no time.
     
  11. hallux macrumors 68020

    hallux

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    #11
    My ATV didn't need to "learn" my Harmony One. Once programmed it just worked...
     
  12. Beelzbub macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2012
    #12
    same
     
  13. CocoaPuffs macrumors 68010

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    #13
    When you pay over $100 for a remote, it better do more than what a simple IR remote would do just fine if all you need is a simple remote replacement.
     
  14. jtrenthacker macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    #14
    The old remotes that were included mith mac minis and imacs works too. Found out by accident.
     
  15. jamesdmc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Cittagazze
    #15
    I find this thread funny. We opened our Apple TV3 on Christmas morning and lost the remote about 3 hours later. We found it in the cushions of the couch, but it disappeared again a couple days later. We still haven't found that thing. However, while looking for it, I found an older remote that came with the mac mini and realized that...
    And ultimately it didn't matter because...
    That was my experience too.

    We also unwrapped an iPad 4 that morning and have been using the Remote app. So eventually, we'll stumble across the ATV remote...and toss it in the drawer with the rest of the unused ones.
     
  16. wharzhee macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    texas
  17. designs216 macrumors 65816

    designs216

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Location:
    Down the rabbit hole
    #17
    Buying a new one is only surefire means of locating the old remote :D
     

Share This Page