Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

dylan

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jul 9, 2005
Seems like a new problem pops up every week these days. Here we go again probably easy to fix but i'm a complete noob when it comes to os x.

1. 1/3 times when i close an app os x will notify me that the app quit unexpectedly or something like that. Gives any pc user a good chuckle.

2. iMovie crashes consistently.

3. Any fullscreen video doesn't fill the whole screen i can still see anywhere from about 64-16 pixels of dock...

4. Computer won't go to sleep by its self. Tries to the fans rev up.

5. Different users use different sound devices. Thus not allowing me to leave my fasttrack plugged in.

6. Pages pops up with an error saying it can't save some thumbs_01 file when i try to save a document.

7. Image capture won't save the embed colorsync profile selection so i have to set it each time i scan something

8. .rm files open in GoLive and i see no way to set them to open with real player.

9. safari pesters my brother for a keychain password on startup

I've tried everything i can think of. i've repaired permissions, flashed the pram deleted preferences, created a new account etc but nothing has solved it. I had alot less problems on my windows pc...

any help would be great.

AlBDamned

macrumors 68030
Mar 14, 2005
Umm.. where to start...

Can you first give us some idea of what you're using in terms of hardware? Platform, OS 10.what.what, installed RAM etc, how old the install is...

mduser63

macrumors 68040
Nov 9, 2004
Salt Lake City, UT
This many problems isn't normal. If I were in your position, I'd call Apple or take your machine into an Apple store. I'm assuming it's a new machine and still under warranty.

iEdd

macrumors 68000
Aug 8, 2005
dylan said:
3. Any fullscreen video doesn't fill the whole screen i can still see anywhere from about 64-16 pixels of dock...