Love my Mac but the apps aren't there.......

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by jrichie, Feb 14, 2007.

1. jrichie macrumors regular

I am an architect and am used to the PC apps [Autocad, Revit and 3DS Max]. Archicad has an uncertain future in my opinion, so I don't want to waste time with it [and it is the only option on the mac, really]

I run both Bootcamp and OSX to work and love my Mac to bits, however I have become sick of OSX for my business, and am now going to commit 100% to XP for work [I have used macs for a fair while now]

The reasons are

1. It is vastly easier to get a decent network going with XP [for me anyway].

2. All the software I really need runs on PC only.

3. Outlook for PC is great and compatible with the rest of the world.

4. Is just as fast, and crashes the same amount of times, no matter what people say.

5. Vista is basically OSX visually, which was my main draw.

I really do love using OSX but have now come to the conclusion that it is not a practical solution for me. The dual boot is an absolute pain.

Do you guys think I am throwing in the towel in too easily, or does anyone else get sick of bootcamp.

I just hope Parallels gets 3D support etc. otherwise it will have to be a microsoft future for me.............

2. dukebound85 macrumors P6

dukebound85

yea i know what you mean. if you need a pc for pc apps for work then by all means use a pc. I know i tend to use windows when i need to get some serious engineering work done as os x simply doesnt have the apps i need

3. gauchogolfer macrumors 603

gauchogolfer

Sounds to me like a PC is the way to go for you. At least at work. I'd of course keep a Mac around at home to have something soothing to look forward to in the evenings.

4. zephead macrumors 68000

zephead

Instead of getting rid of the Mac, you could just set it to auto-boot to XP. Or if you don't want it, my parents need a new computer :p.

5. jrichie thread starter macrumors regular