Mac 2012: remaining battery status ?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by macchiato2009, Jul 20, 2012.

  1. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    #1
    hi

    I've just bought a new Macbook Air and i'm quite surprise that battery status in the upper bar only offers 2 options: icon only or %

    i used to select remaining battery time on my other Mac

    did this option disappear under Lion on 2012 Macs ?

    how to get it back ?

    thanks
     
  2. macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #2
    It's gone, and was always fairly meaningless. Good riddance!
     
  3. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #3
    From the CHECKING STATUS AND HEALTH section of the following link:
    This should answer most, if not all, of your battery/charging questions:
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
  5. GGJstudios, Jul 20, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2012

    macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #5
    No. As I said, you can still see it by clicking the icon. This is already being discussed in several threads:
    From the CHECKING STATUS AND HEALTH section of the following link:
    From the BATTERY LIFE FROM A CHARGE section of the following link:
    This should answer most, if not all, of your battery/charging questions:
     
  6. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    #6
    Umm, this is from my 2012 MBP (Delivered July 9).

    I've done nothing special, this is not a Retina...
     

    Attached Files:

  7. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #7
    Same here on 13" 2012 MBA. I can select time. I think it is the new Retina and Mountain Lion that dropped the time.

    Edit: From OP's other posts it appears he has a MBA also. I used Migration Assistant from a 2011 MBP, and I wonder if that has something to do with me having the time option and the OP does not?
     
  8. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    #8
    No, I didn't use MA to move my data (moved from a Windows laptop, wanted to clean up some files) so MA wouldn't have moved that option over...
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    #9
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    #10
    Hmm, this is curious. Am on my 2012 MBA (just opened) and I am missing the 'time' feature too. Anyone have any idea why/how I may reclaim it?
     
  11. macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #11
    Because Apple took it out. You can't get it back.
     

Share This Page