Mac 7950 on the ground, EFI works in 1,1 Mac Pro but drivers don't

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by MacVidCards, Mar 20, 2013.

  1. MacVidCards, Mar 20, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2013

    macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #1
    OK, just got done unboxing.

    Pretty white thing.

    First thing I did was toss in a 1,1 testing machine. BOOT SCREENS !!!

    Box says requires 10.8.2 or....wait for it.......10.7.5. Has a drivers disc for OSX.

    So while Nvidia gave up on 1,1 long ago, AMD still remembers us !!!

    Going to try in the 4,1 and post screenies, etc.

    Who wants to know if it works in 10.7.5?
     
  2. macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #2
    That makes me actually want to buy one, just to support Sapphire at this point
     
  3. macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
  4. macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #4
    Gr8!!!

    So, will definitely work in the 3.1! :cool:

    Just wondering how long it will take for us over here in ol' Europe that we can get our hands on one...
     
  5. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #5
    yes awesome. Thanks for posting your results. I am a 3.1 owner looking to get another 5 years out of my machine.
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    Location:
    South Pole
    #6
    Wow! That is great news!

    I kind of wish I had held onto my 1,1 a little longer now.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #7
    Sweet card, running 4 displays with ease.

    So...about to try the 10.7.5 functionality.

    Discovered that there is nothing keeping reg cards from being flashed, but once flashed they run at PCIE 1.0. For the 1,1/2,1 crowd, won't be any loss at all.

    Does beg the question, why does AMD care enough to continue supporting 1,1 and 2,1 while Nvidia tossed them under the bus when they introduced GTX285?

    Is AMD smarter? They sell a card that works in ALL Mac Pros and even include drivers in an OS that runs on 1,1 and 2,1. Seems like a much smarter business move.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    #8
    What is the speed difference of this video card from GTX 670. The only reason i bought GTX 670 is for mercury playback. I am still stuck on CS5.5 production premium. Do i need to upgrade to CS6.0 to add 7950 to the unsupported card list. One of the benefit is EFI boot screen with 7950 i guess
     
  9. macrumors 65816

    Macsonic

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    Earth
    #9
    Thanks for the news on the new AMD card working on Mac Pro 1,1 This is great news and hope will encourage people to continue using Mac Pros.

    Maybe AMD is more business minded and aiming for expanded higher sales than Nvidia.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #10
    So, the EFI is enough to get it running on one screen in 10.7.5, with no acceleration.

    The package has driver installers.

    Going to install now.

    Please follow the special procedure below if you are installing a new graphics card for the first time.
    Please see requirements above. 

Double-Click the installer icon and follow the on-screen instructions.
    The Sapphire RADEON HD 7950 Installer contains the following items:
    Mac*OS*X 10.7.5:
    ATI1300Controller.kext
    ATI1600Controller.kext
    ATI1900Controller.kext
    ATI2400Controller.kext
    ATI2600Controller.kext
    ATI3800Controller.kext
    ATI4600Controller.kext
    ATI4800Controller.kext
    ATI5000Controller.kext
    ATI6000Controller.kext
    ATI7000Controller.kext
    ATIFramebuffer.kext
    ATIRadeonX1000.kext
    ATIRadeonX1000GA.plugin
    ATIRadeonX1000GLDriver.bundle
    ATIRadeonX1000VADriver.bundle
    ATIRadeonX2000.kext
    ATIRadeonX2000GA.plugin
    ATIRadeonX2000GLDriver.bundle
    ATIRadeonX2000VADriver.bundle
    ATIRadeonX3000.kext
    ATIRadeonX3000GA.plugin
    ATIRadeonX3000GLDriver.bundle
    ATIRadeonX3000VADriver.bundle
    ATIRadeonX4000.kext
    ATIRadeonX4000GA.plugin
    ATIRadeonX4000GLDriver.bundle
    ATIRadeonX4000VADriver.bundle
    ATISupport.kext


    Mac*OS*X 10.8.2:
    AMDRadeonAccelerator.kext
    AMDRadeonVADriver.bundle
    AMDRadeonX3000GLDriver.bundle
    AMDRadeonX4000GLDriver.bundle
    ATI2400Controller.kext
    ATI2600Controller.kext
    ATI3800Controller.kext
    ATI4600Controller.kext
    ATI4800Controller.kext
    ATI5000Controller.kext
    ATI6000Controller.kext
    ATI7000Controller.kext
    ATIFramebuffer.kext
    ATIRadeonX2000.kext
    ATIRadeonX2000GA.plugin
    ATIRadeonX2000GLDriver.bundle
    ATIRadeonX2000VADriver.bundle
    ATISupport.kext


    The installer application will install the above components.
    NOTE: Do not remove any previously installed nor built-in ATI/AMD files. This installer will overwrite/remove any files that need to be updated. Do not manually remove any existing ATI/AMD files,
    If you wish to remove the Sapphire card drivers and restore your original set of ATI/AMD drivers, you can re-run the Sapphire RADEON HD 7950 Installer. It will auto-detect that you currently have the Sapphire drivers installed, and it will uninstall those drivers and restore your original ATI/AMD drivers.
     
  11. macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #11
    AMD fills empty space after Nvidia :) There is still many people with 1,1/2,1.
    You've said something about flashing...;) Any chance for ROM dump and 10.7.5 driver package?
    Regardless, thanks for testing and info!
     
  12. macrumors 65816

    DanielCoffey

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #12
    Does the Sapphire 7950 run at PCI 2.x on a 5,1 (or similar) in Bootcamp? I understand it will for OSX.
     
  13. macrumors 68020

    Kissaragi

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    #13
    Wow thats great that they have offered support right back to 1.1.

    Whats the noise from the fan like? Youd hope sapphire would include a decent cooling system at this price point.
     
  14. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
  15. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #15
    awesome! any chance you can provide the drivers for 10.8.x (not listed on the sapphire page yet..) , i wanna RMA my 7950 windows card because i've some troubles with it and would like to try the drivers before sending it back tmr..
     
  16. macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    上海 (Shanghai)
    #16
    Mine should be arriving tomorrow. Just wondering what's the deal with the switch; can you still work in Windows with the switch set to Mac mode?
     
  17. MacVidCards, Mar 20, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2013

    thread starter macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #17
    The switch should only be needed for a UEFI Windows machine.

    On the "bad news" front, I have installed the included 10.7.5 drivers on 2 separate 10.7.5 discs, once the drivers are installed I get KPs when trying to boot with 7950 or even a 6870.

    I have repaired permissions and still same thing.

    The only thing about my 10.7.5 that would be "off" would be that they would both have the OpenCl fix for greater than 2GB cards.

    And if you think about it, the 7950 with 3GB would IN THEORY need it, but perhaps there is some conflict?

    So, all I did with 1,1 was see the boot screens, curious if anyone else has 10.7.5 working.

    The drivers package is 80MB. If someone wants to host it somewhere, PM me.
     
  18. Inconsequential, Mar 21, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2013

    macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    #18
    I can host.

    Can you also upload the efi bios?

    I'd like to know if with the efi a PC Card will run at full speed, I.e 5GT/s, not 2.5 in windows.

    Would it be possible to extract the efi part and apply it to say, a 7870?

    Cheers!
     
  19. macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    上海 (Shanghai)
    #19
    Okay, I was afraid I would have to flip a switch every time I wanted to boot into Windows and flip it back when working with OS X.

    As for your conflict, have you tried installing a vanilla copy of 10.7.5 (booting with another GPU), install the drivers, and then doing the swap?

    Also I can also host if you need.
     
  20. thread starter macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #20
    The EFI is useable on other cards. I have already gotten 7870 and 7770 working with boot screens, though the 7770 only shows on VGA. We will need to try different personalities.

    Flashed cards will run at PCIE 1.0 without further work, though I have gotten 7970 to 2.0.
     
  21. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    #21
    A PC 7970 can be flashed to work in a Mac Pro at PCIe 2.0 speeds AND will show boot screens (at least on some ports)? Is that correct?

    So there's hope for a fully or near fully functioning flashed PC 7950?

    Don't all 7970s use one 6-pin and one 8-pin power connection which would require a potentially problematic 6-pin to 8-pin adapter or an external power supply?
     
  22. thread starter macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #22
    If you flash a 7970 with stock Mac 7950 BIOS/EFI you end up with a slightly faster Mac 7950, that runs at PCIE 1.0.

    To get it to run as a full EFI 7970 with boot screens and running at PCIE 2.0 requires some rom modding and is specific to each card.

    The OpenCl results only go up a little but the bandwidth numbers are impressive.

    Doable though.
     

    Attached Files:

  23. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    #23
    It'd be nice if those mods were available... I assume you'll be selling cards?

    So one could have a modded 7970 with boot screens running at PCIE 2.0 for less than the price of a 7950 Mac Edition?

    And what about flashing a non-Mac 7950 with Mac Edition firmware? Possibly a cheaper 7950 with boot screens and PCIE 2.0?
     
  24. macrumors 6502a

    PowerPCMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Location:
    PowerPC land
    #24
    This is because of AMD/ATI's EBC firmware. The card is EFI32/64 backwards compatible. Remember, while Apple calls us obsolete or vintage(1,1 and 2,1 Mac Pro users), AMD wants to make a profit and what better way then to make their video cards backwards compatible..

    Just wish they had a snow leopard driver.. dunno, has anyone tried to run this with 10.6.8?




    ----------

    In case you did not know, AMD/ATI always defied Apple against forced obsolecense. EBC firmware is what makes this all possible. Kudos to AMD for keeping older Mac Pros alive with a beefy video card!!!

    Although I have a 2010 6-core Mac Pro, I might also consider this card.. but I wonder if it would even work under 10.6.8, or would I get a black screen?


     
  25. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    #25
    Hi, I´m a newbie in this graphic cards world.
    Where could I download this application to test my GTX570?
    Thanks in advance. :eek:
     

Share This Page