mac A/V ports question

Discussion in 'Apple Collectors' started by macEfan, Jan 8, 2006.

  1. macEfan macrumors 65816

    macEfan

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Location:
    Forbidden, you do not have access to that server
    #1
    Ok, So I am trying to help someone with their mac and they want to record something onto their computer from their VCR. The Mac is an Powermac 7500 A/V.. I see video/audio in ports on the computer also. So i plug all the cables, but then I realized how do I record it? The computer is running OS 9 and has 128 mb of ram. Do I need some type of apple program? how do the A/V ports work?

    Thanks!
    -macEfan
     
  2. macg4 macrumors 6502a

    macg4

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Location:
    Des Moines,Iowa
  3. macEfan thread starter macrumors 65816

    macEfan

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Location:
    Forbidden, you do not have access to that server
    #3
    what is it? is if free? How would I go about doing this?

    Thanks 4 your reply!
     
  4. stewie D macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    #4
    Or just get a half decent app like Avid Videoshop or Strata Video that run on OS 9. They give you a lot more options and you can pick up copies on ebay for about $10. Either way you need some sort of app with an on screen control panel to import the video. If you have all the cables connected properly , just fire up the app -vid player or whatever , go to the main menu and there should be an import button . Hit that , make sure the VCR or other is playing and the video will start to download to the computer. Make sure you have enough Ram and Hard Drive free space first though or you might run out of room . Uncompressed video chews up HD space quickly.
     
  5. RacerX macrumors 65832

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    #5
    The two physical factors to take into consideration when capturing video on that system (and on 8500s) is processor speed and VRAM.

    The 7500 series shipped with 2 MB of VRAM, upgrading to 4 MB (the system's max) should help with the capture rate and resolution.

    At one point Strata was giving away VideoShop 3.0 which worked great on the 7500/8500 series systems for capturing video. I'm not sure where to find it these days as I got my copy with a MacAddict back in early 1998. I have both Premiere 5.1 and VideoShop 4.5 on my 8100av, but I actually do all my video capturing on my SGI Indy (outfitted with a Cosmo Compression capture option) as it captures video at full frame rate at full frame size.
     

Share This Page