Mac ai file/WinPCSign issues?

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by oogieboogiex, Aug 17, 2009.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto
    #1
    A friend recently bought a vinyl cutter and is using WinPCSign on a trial version on his Windows XP laptop.

    I brought him a file to test, an Illustrator CS3 file, saved as an .ai, from my G4, on a 4gb stick.

    Neither WinPCSign nor Corel Draw X4 he was using would open the ai file... we kept getting an error about it being a compressed file.

    Is this like the old Mac to PC, PC doesn't recognize the Mac code, issue? Could it be something related to his WinPCSign being a trial version?

    Anyone have a workaround? Do I need to save or export it as something else?
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    mperkins37

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #2
    Try Saving As A Legacy Ai File 5.5-6 Should Do It.
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    Jim Campbell

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Location:
    A World of my Own; UK
    #3
    .ai is Illustrator's native file format -- it's just the same way that I wouldn't expect a .psd to play as nicely with third part apps as, say a TIFF, would.

    I'd try saving it out as an Illustrator EPS -- the file will still be editable in Illustrator but the EPS format is more acceptable to alternative platforms and applications. If the other programmes choke on Postscript, try PDF.

    Cheers

    Jim
     
  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto
    #4
    I'll maybe have to try them all... eps, pdf and maybe export a cdr and see if his Corel likes that...

    he's not a graphics guy, he just bought the thing so he doesn't have to deal with a sign company/vinyl cutter, because he wasn't getting any service... I just need to help him figure out what he needs to tell people who want him to do stickers from existing files...
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto
    #5
    thank for the input

    yes, it was an issue that it did not like the CS3 file... illustrator 8 and eps worked fine
     

Share This Page