.Mac/AIM rejects my password via Adium

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Nermal, Dec 5, 2005.

  1. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #1
    I've been using my .Mac account in Adium for several months now, and it's been fine. But recently (within the past few weeks), it's been popping up and asking for my password, despite having the "remember password" box ticked. Sometimes it connects straight away, sometimes it asks for my password then works, and sometimes I have to enter my password 2 or 3 times before it accepts it.

    Adium isn't giving me an "incorrect password" message, but I guess that the .Mac/AIM server is rejecting my password. Has anyone else been experiencing this behaviour? Any suggestions?

    Thanks :)
     
  2. dotdotdot macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #2
    try changing your password...

    that did the trick for me when AIM decided my password sucked...
     
  3. Nermal thread starter Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #3
    Thanks for the suggestion, but it's still doing it :(
     
  4. evands macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Location:
    Decatur, GA
    #4
    Does the account work properly in iChat or the MacAIM client?
     
  5. Nermal thread starter Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #5
    It appears to be working in iChat, but I can't say for sure since it's an intermittent problem.
     
  6. haiggy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #6
    I have the same problem. I just click cancel and don't worry about it, seeing as all my friends use MSN anyways. :rolleyes:
     
  7. Nermal thread starter Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #7
    Same problem? Interesting. All my friends use MSN too, I only set up AIM because Doctor Q asked me to :rolleyes:
     
  8. Bear macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #8
    What version of Adium are you running?

    0.87b5 (yes, it's beta) fixes a bunch of AIM issues that 0.86 and ealier have.
     
  9. Nermal thread starter Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #9
    I'm currently running 0.86, I'll download the beta and give it a go.
     
  10. radiantm3 macrumors 65816

    radiantm3

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #10
    AIM network was down for a bit before. It's not an adium problem. Some friends on PCs were disconnected as well.
     
  11. Nermal thread starter Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
  12. radiantm3 macrumors 65816

    radiantm3

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #12
    Oh nope. It was like an hour ago. Everything I had connected to the AIM network went down (iChat and ADIUM). .Mac (AIM) account kept asking for my password. A few PC friends had the same issue.
     
  13. crazzyeddie macrumors 68030

    crazzyeddie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #13
    No its not the outage that happened a few hours ago... I've been having this problem for a few weeks, too. I'll try the beta and let you know if it fixes things.
     
  14. Nermal thread starter Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #14
    I haven't had any problems since installing the beta of Adium, but I won't know for sure that it's fixed it for a few days - sometimes with the old version it would work for a couple of days before failing.

    Thanks for all your help :)
     
  15. crazzyeddie macrumors 68030

    crazzyeddie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #15
    Well now I'm getting a completely new problem with any configured .Mac account. Oh well, I'll just disable it altogether.
     
  16. Nermal thread starter Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #16
    Bam! It just happened again :(

    Edit: I see that 0.87 is out of beta now, so I'll give that a go.

    Edit 2: It just happened again :(
     

Share This Page