Mac and chess

Discussion in 'Games' started by blueflame, Sep 30, 2005.

  1. blueflame macrumors 6502a

    blueflame

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Location:
    Studio City
    #1
    ok, so i am looking for a way to play chess with my brother onver the internet, he is in arizona im in mass. i founf big bang chess, which is like exactly what im looking for, adn it work over ichat, but for something i can only think has to do with firewalls, i can only get people on my network, help, i dont want a cummy java version
    andreas
     
  2. Dr. Dastardly macrumors 65816

    Dr. Dastardly

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Location:
    I live in a giant bucket!
    #2
    Ok did anyone else thought the title was "Mac and Cheese".

    To bad its about stupid chess instead.

    Anyway are you getting a network error message or something along those lines? I guess I still don't understand the question fully. :confused:
     
  3. highres macrumors 6502a

    highres

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Location:
    Near the Singularity
    #3
    definitely thought this thread was going to talk about different kinds of "macaroni" and "cheese". Baked vs other methods, what types of cheeses, etc...Sounds pretty good right now... :rolleyes:
     
  4. Rod Rod macrumors 68020

    Rod Rod

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #4
    Well it's probably java, but Yahoo Games might be your best bet for one-on-one across-the-internet chess games.
     
  5. blueflame thread starter macrumors 6502a

    blueflame

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Location:
    Studio City
    #5
    haha, mac and cheese

    anyway, if youve tried big bang chess, it works through ichat, even ishight gets used in the program, the chess game loads up your buddy list and you can invite people and waht not. now, i can get this to wrok on my network, but not outside of it. it jusrt never fully connects. i am wireless through an airport express on a cable connection through charter.i dont want yahoo game style, i already found one of those i want something with a nice graphical interface and at leat the 3d chess peices.
    andreas


    ps: did that awsner he question?
     
  6. Rod Rod macrumors 68020

    Rod Rod

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #6
    It sounds like all you have to do is figure out some sort of port forwarding or DMZ type arrangement with your router(s).
     
  7. blueflame thread starter macrumors 6502a

    blueflame

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Location:
    Studio City
    #7
    what does this mean

    can you explaine to me how to do this?
    andreas
     
  8. jared_kipe macrumors 68030

    jared_kipe

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle
    #8
    Big Bang Chess no good. At least last time I tried to play. Every other game or so something would happen like a pawn would disappear or move randomly.

    I believe you can do a P2P chess game in Chessmaster 9000.
     
  9. Rod Rod macrumors 68020

    Rod Rod

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #9
    Well the instructions will vary depending on what model router(s) you have. A quick search in these forums will very likely yield you answers specific to your hardware.
     
  10. blueflame thread starter macrumors 6502a

    blueflame

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Location:
    Studio City
    #10
    chessmaster is only PC?
    mac version?
    andreas, also, im sorry but i dont know enough of what you are talking about to even search for this, i have an airporet express. thats it, its connected directly to the cable modem
    andreas
     
  11. belvdr macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #11
    How about email chess? Sounds a little corny, but my friend and I play it all the time.

    Shockwave also has other variations of chess as well.
     
  12. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #12
    I did.

    Now I feel hungry- great! :rolleyes: :)
     
  13. blueflame thread starter macrumors 6502a

    blueflame

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Location:
    Studio City
    #13
    ok,last resort

    alsright, so i reall;y want to buy Big Bang Chess, but no matter what i try i cannot get it to work over the net, i cannot join nor host. i connect using a cable modem, and a airport express, could sxomeone test this setup and see if not matter what they do, including port forwarding they can get it to play?
    thanks everyone
    andreas
     
  14. GonzoRob macrumors 6502

    GonzoRob

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    #14
    hosting cheese? oh, you mean a fondue party?
    thats a bit 70's isn't it ? ....

    ;)
    R
     

Share This Page