Mac Book pro won't sleep

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by teerexx52, Feb 28, 2006.

  1. teerexx52 macrumors 68000

    teerexx52

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Location:
    Florida West Coast
    #1
    I have a 1 day old Mac Book Pro 1.83. Whe I close the lid the unit will not sleep. Has anyone else experienced this?
     
  2. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
  3. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #3
    My 2.0 sometimes does the same (nothing attached). If I sleep from the Apple menu then close the lid it's fine.
     
  4. teerexx52 thread starter macrumors 68000

    teerexx52

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Location:
    Florida West Coast
    #4
    No, none
     
  5. bpd115 macrumors 6502a

    bpd115

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #5
    Reset PMU... do a hardware test from the first install cd
     
  6. Malcster macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #6
    If you haven't reported it to apple then do so, if you've fixed permissions, disk utility etc and it still happens then i would hope for a fix in 10.4.6.
     
  7. kretzy macrumors 604

    kretzy

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    #7
    Have you tried singing it a lullaby?

    Seriously, check the Apple support pages and if that fails contact Apple.
     
  8. teerexx52 thread starter macrumors 68000

    teerexx52

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Location:
    Florida West Coast
    #8
    I called Apple and they want to capture it. I'm not sure this is a hardware problem but maybe something associated with 10.4.5. Any thoughts?
     
  9. teerexx52 thread starter macrumors 68000

    teerexx52

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Location:
    Florida West Coast
    #9
    i did all of that with the Apple tech. Didn't change anything,. I will sleep if I manually put it to sleep and also if it sleeps from the power settings
     
  10. Malcster macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #10
    Yup, if hardware checks out and you've run all the disk checks then i would guess theres a gremlin in OS X, not surprising on a new chipset like this to be honest. If Apple know then i would hope for a fix in the next Mac OS Update.
     
  11. teerexx52 thread starter macrumors 68000

    teerexx52

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Location:
    Florida West Coast
    #11
    Do you think I should let them capture it?
     
  12. SilentPanda Moderator emeritus

    SilentPanda

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Bamboo Forest
    #12
    What is "capture it"? You mean they want you to send it back? If so... then yes. If you mean something else then... maybe. :D
     
  13. teerexx52 thread starter macrumors 68000

    teerexx52

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Location:
    Florida West Coast
    #13
    yeah, they want me to send it back. No replacement for 6-10 days. So they say
     

Share This Page