mac compatability issues......

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by Soc7777777, Jun 18, 2004.

  1. Soc7777777 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    #1
    can a powermac work with any lcd that a wintel machine would use.. and would and apple moniter work with a wintel machine...
     
  2. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    Any is a very strong word. It means that there are no exceptions. The answer is "yes" to both questions with caveats. The caveats are that in order for you to use a particular monitor--LCD, CRT, projection, or whatever--your graphics card or on-board graphics has to support it. If your monitor uses DVI and your graphics card has VGA, well you have to buy a card with a DVI port. My graphics card has both ADC and DVI ports. That means that it won't support VGA, but my PowerBook supports VGA and S-video. You get the idea? As for Apple monitors, they are exclusively digital LCD. They use ADC as the default. However, they may be used with standard DVI ports if you have an adapter.
     
  3. Elan0204 macrumors 65816

    Elan0204

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #3
    That's not true, you can use a DVI to VGA Adaptor to connect to a VGA monitor. My powerbook has DVI out, but came with an adaptor to let me plug it into VGA monitors/projectors.
     
  4. 7on macrumors 601

    7on

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dress Rosa
    #4
    I'm going to say Powermacs can use any PC VGA or DVI monitor (commercial). A PC cannot use a Mac Cinematic Display without ~$500 worth of adapters. Because Mac Monitors use a cable that combines DVI, Power and USB into one cable. And I don't think the ADC-VGA adapters will allow the PC to use the Cinematic Display's USB ports.

    BTW, Powermacs come with a DVI - VGA adapter.
     
  5. Anticipat3 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    Location:
    Madison, Wisconsin
    #5
    I'll just get to the point:

    Yes. The monitors are not platform specific, unless it's an Apple ADC monitor (in which case, you need a $100 adapter to hook it up to a PC)
     

Share This Page