Mac constantly turning off, house issue?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by R4nd0m57, Apr 14, 2013.

  1. R4nd0m57
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    #1
    So, for about more than a year my mac has been turning off at random. Sometimes more often than not, but it happens at least once a day.
    I have tried almost every solution, ive brought it in to apple store. But there is no problems they say.


    I have tried UPS, different sockets, but to no avail

    It will work at other peoples houses, so i assumed it was a house problems. So we called in technicians and found no problems with the house, except high voltage. Is that a problem?

    is there anything else i can try to resolve this issue?
    open to anything..

    mac wont stay on long enough to provide specifics, but i have mountain lion.

    is it a house problem?
     
  2. Apple fanboy
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors G4

    Apple fanboy

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Location:
    Behind the Lens, UK
    #2
    If you are using a decent UPS then I don't think it's going to be the power supply. Do you get a lot of surges or tiny little power cuts? We used to have them here until they updated the neighbourhood transformer. The only way you would tell is the answer phone and printer would reset themselves.
     
  3. R4nd0m57
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    #3
    To my knowledge we haven't had any power cuts.
     
  4. Acorn
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68020

    Acorn

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Location:
    macrumors
    #4
    if you already tried a ups that has a power conditioner in it then I dont think its power. any chance its overheating and shutting down because of that.
     
  5. R4nd0m57
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    #5
    When checking my temps i didn't find any heating issues, the temps were very normal.
     
  6. macalec
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    #6
    It could be the high voltage is providing interference still. Try getting another tech out to take a look.

    Out of curiosity, do you have any other electronics that have issues within your house??

    :apple::apple:

     
  7. R4nd0m57
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    #7
    Sometimes the laptops wouldn't be fully charged when they are being plugged in, being recharged.

    do you think a voltage regulator would help the situation?
     
  8. Nuke61
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013
    Location:
    Columbia, SC
    #8
    Your computer works fine at the Apple store AND at other people's houses, but shuts down at your house -- sounds like a problem with your house electrical system to me. You said you tried an UPS, but exactly which UPS? Most inexpensive UPS units <$150 or so don't do line conditioning, meaning that they step in if voltage gets too low, but they don't provide voltage regulation.

    Do you have incandescent lights? Do you notice them getting brighter or dimmer, and is there any association with when your Mac shuts itself down?
     
  9. R4nd0m57
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    #9
  10. Nuke61
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013
    Location:
    Columbia, SC
    #10
  11. drambuie
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    #11
    A high line voltage by itself shouldn't be a problem for an iMac, as the specified AC line voltage is in the range from 100V to 240V. Excessive low frequency noise or spikes/dips on the line could cause problems. Also, the active power factor correction in iMac power supplies makes them sensitive to distorted AC waveforms. Consumer level UPS units do not protect against low frequency noise, short spikes, or poor waveform.

    The problem could be caused by a defective pole transformer, connection, electricity meter, or even an appliance or motor in the house.
     
  12. MrCheeto
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68030

    MrCheeto

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #12
    Check that your mains are grounded.

    I plugged up a 1100w Yamaha home stereo. After using it for the first time, I found out (with quite a shock) that the mains socket wasn't properly grounded...
     

Share This Page