Mac Convert Question - Backing up

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Carpediem68, Feb 4, 2007.

1. Carpediem68 macrumors member

Hi Gang,

I did it. I used to want a mac back in college (20 years ago) when it had a built in handle and would say "hello" to you when you turned it on. But.. alas.. I was broke. Then I became a lawyer. An industry dominated by M$. I finally got a look at Windows Vista and decided "Thats it .. I'm done". I found myself that afternoon in the Applestore putting a sizeable dent in my bank account for a macbook pro 17" and I love it. I love it more than is rational. Anyway, I'm now set up with Parallels (for 2 programs I MUST use once in awhile), M$ office on mac and a few other programs. I'm still learning but love the mac. Love the reliability, the stability, and the "fun" of it. I've already got the family chistmas dvd done and iDVD blows away anything I ever used on the PC. I do, however, have a few questions ....

Backing Up

My MacBook Pro has a 160 mb hard drive. I have a little WD passport drive that I use to make backups on. I also have a 200 MB western digitial USB drive and while on PC I *knew* what files to back up I'm not sure I do here. Should I selectively back up pictures, docs, etc.. or should I just find one of the programs that mirrors the drive? If so... which one.

All feedback is greatly appreciated.

I don't see many utilities in Tiger ... i.e. defrag, etc.. What do you guys use? Do you need it? If so, what do you recomend?

Thanks,
    David

2. emptyCup macrumors 65816

emptyCup

Mirroring increases reliability, but not data security. If your primary drive fails you have a copy ready to take over. However, if you delete the wrong program or regret saving changes your mirror will have copied that too.