Mac Convert Question - Virus Software

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Carpediem68, Feb 4, 2007.

1. Carpediem68 macrumors member

Hi Gang,

I did it. I used to want a mac back in college (20 years ago) when it had a built in handle and would say "hello" to you when you turned it on. But.. alas.. I was broke. Then I became a lawyer. An industry dominated by M$. I finally got a look at Windows Vista and decided "Thats it .. I'm done". I found myself that afternoon in the Applestore putting a sizeable dent in my bank account for a macbook pro 17" and I love it. I love it more than is rational. Anyway, I'm now set up with Parallels (for 2 programs I MUST use once in awhile), M$ office on mac and a few other programs. I'm still learning but love the mac. Love the reliability, the stability, and the "fun" of it. I've already got the family chistmas dvd done and iDVD blows away anything I ever used on the PC. I do, however, have a few questions ....

Virus software

Do I need it? The Apple store says no but I've read a few articles that say I do. Can you please share you experience with this one week mac newby?

Thanks,
    David

2. psychofreak Retired

psychofreak

3. Mernak macrumors 6502

I would recommend it if only because if you sent stuff to pcs, and any virus that doesn't affect still resides in the file and can be destructive for PCs. I use ClamXAV, mainly because it is free.

4. psychofreak Retired

psychofreak

Make sure your PCs are protected...antivirus slows your mac down

5. EricNau Moderator emeritus

EricNau

You'll still need virus software for the windows partition, but no need to worry about the OS X.

6. SMM macrumors 65816

SMM

Welcome to the world of Macs. I would like to read the articles you spoke of. Would you please post the links? I would appreciate it. Thanks.

7. smueboy macrumors 6502a

smueboy