Mac doesnt ask password on boot?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by sunrobby, May 27, 2006.

  1. sunrobby macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Location:
    Indonesia
    #1
    Hi, im a new mac users. Usually in Windows, it will ask you for a password even if there is only one account on user setting. And there is an option to lock the computer (password will be asked if you want to unlock it). And i can't find such option in mac, i have only one user in user account, and i can only find an option to ask password when mac back from screen saver or sleep. Can i do a computer lock in mac? (if i want to leave my computer, and to be sure nobody plays with it, do i have to wait until the screen saver start..) And how to make the mac ask password when it's starting, can i do so? Thanks :)
     
  2. eva01 macrumors 601

    eva01

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gah! Plymouth
    #2
    make sure the box in the system preference for accounts does not have checked off for auto login feature
     
  3. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #3
    For locking the screen when your screen saver becomes active you need to do the following:
    1. Go to Preferences>Security: Hit the Check Box that locks on Sleep or Screen Saver.
    2. Optional: Go to Preferences>Expose: Turn on a Hot Corner for your screen saver to be activated, so you don't have to wait for the thing to go on after 5 minutes (or whatever the time limit is for your Saver).
     
  4. sunrobby thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Location:
    Indonesia
    #4
    Ok, i didnt realize that, thanks :)
     
  5. sunrobby thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Location:
    Indonesia
    #5
    still wondering if i can lock my mac.. i know i can always choose the mac -> sleep, but i wonder if i can just 'lock', i dont want to put my mac to sleep cause i want its network still on
     
  6. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #6
    Did you read GimmeSlack12's post?
     
  7. sunrobby thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Location:
    Indonesia
    #7
    Sorry i missed it :p so i still have to go screen saver in order to lock the computer? And one way to make it goes to screen saver is activate the hot corners to go to screen saver.. ok thanks :)
     
  8. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #8
    Another way to do it would be enable fast user switching system prefs>accounts>login options(10.3 should be the same or similar in 10.4) Then set up a key combo to switch to the login window or just use the menu in the top right.
     
  9. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #9
    That is a better way to do it. I think I recall reading somewhere long ago that it was more secure. You can also set up a preference in the Accounts pane to have the Mac ask for login/password instead of prompting with a list of accounts for you to click and then provide a password - more secure because it doesn't give away your account name.
     
  10. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #10
    That is in the same pref pane.
     
  11. semaja2 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    Adelaide
    #11
    I actually have mine autologin but i have a openfirmware password, its much more secure IMO as especially with a laptop its not easy to get to the battery (i dont even know how macs store the password)
     
  12. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #12
    All you have to do is pull the battery out for a little bit. Its very easy to get to on most macs. For example the emac i am looking at right now has the access door for a the ram and the battery is right next to that.
     
  13. cjc343 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    In the apple store, in front of a G5.
    #13
    If you go to /Applications/Utilities/

    Open "Keychain Access"

    go to "Preferences..."

    Check "Show Status in Menu Bar"

    This will make a little lock icon appear in the top right-hand corner of your screen. Selecting "Lock Screen" will start the screen saver.
     

Share This Page