Mac fails to shut down if WHS has already shutdown/isn't up

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by kitenski, May 19, 2009.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    #1
    Morning,

    Does anyone else use an HP MediaSmart server (or a similar WHS device) connected to their Mac?

    I'm trying to troubleshoot an issue.

    I have 5 shares set up to auto connect at logon, which is all fine assuming the WHS is up, however I have it shut down at 11pm at night, and my Mac then refuses to shut down if the share is no longer available.

    Similarly if I start the Mac up with the WHS switched off, it won't then shutdown.

    In both cases I need to hard power the Mac off, or kill windowsserver from ActivityMonitor, which takes me back to a logon screen from where I can then gracefully shutdown.

    I also use Chronosync to backup various files, and I first thought this software was causing the issues, but I'm no longer sure, so I thought I'd see if others are experiencing the same issue.

    ..and no I can't use Timemachine, as I need to sync various music and photo files between Pc --> WHS --> Mac

    regards,

    Greg
     
  2. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    #2
    Does anybody else have a WHS working fine with Mac?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    #3
    Guess it's just me then :(

    Wondering wether to do a full OS rebuild to try and fix it (thought Mac's weren't meant to have problems like this???)

    Cheers,

    greg
     
  4. Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Whakatane, New Zealand
    #4
    If I have time, I'll do some testing with WHS tomorrow and see whether I run into the same sorts of problems. No promises though.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    #5
    Much appreciated if you have some time :D
     
  6. Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Whakatane, New Zealand
    #6
    I finally had a chance to try this, and I've run into the same problem: If I shut down WHS while OS X is still connected, OS X won't shut down. I haven't tried connecting at login, but I suspect that I'd have problems there too.
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Chris.L

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    I have a home built WHS server and don't have this problem.

    I have never had any problem like this with my MBP and WHS server
     
  8. macrumors 604

    thejadedmonkey

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    Pa
    #8
    Hahaha Mac's break sooooo easily once you step outside of the Apple ecosystem. Actually it's kind of lame on Apple's part. Constructively, did you try disabling Chronosync?
     
  9. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    #9
    Yes, I have the issue both with and without Chronosync installed.

    Chris.L - just checking, but are you saying you can mount a few shares from your WHS, so the icons are on your desktop, then shutdown the WHS, and the Mac will shut down gracefully?

    Regards,

    Greg
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    Chris.L

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    Yep, do that all the time. Copying data to and from the WHS, normally videos and normally 20GB+ in one hit. Then I use ChickenoftheVNC to remote onto the WHS and shut it down. Normally I will forget to eject the share first, and so it tells me it is no longer available, I press disconnect and then I used to just sleep, deep sleep, or shut down (although don't shut down these days, just deep sleep)
     
  11. 1ne
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Location:
    Canada Oil Country
    #11
    I have a OEM WHS and just tested it and it's fine for me. Perhaps it has something to do with the HP?
     
  12. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    #12
    Interesting, thanks guys. Are you connecting to the WHS using SMB?

    regards,

    Greg
     
  13. 1ne
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Location:
    Canada Oil Country
    #13
    Ha ha how so so so true!!!

    Either. Both with auto logon and SMB.
     
  14. 1ne
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Location:
    Canada Oil Country
    #14
    Don't mean to hijack your thread. Are you backing up to your WHS with Time Machine?

    I found lots of documentation but nothing works for me. At least not on 10.5.7. Any directions?
     
  15. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    #15
    Not not backing up using Time Machine ,just using CHronosync to copy videos, pictures, music across and keep it all synced up.

    I really am struggling to understand why yours doesn't hang and mine does!! any chance you could detail how you connect from the Mac to the WHS?

    Do you end up with an icon for each share on your desktop?

    Regards,

    Greg
     
  16. macrumors 68020

    geoffreak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #16
    Well, if there isn't something to fight, all of us switchers will be too bored with Macs :p
     
  17. 1ne
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Location:
    Canada Oil Country
    #17
    Took a break and did some testing for you. Here are my steps.

    1. Command K smb://192.168.28.20 or smb://server. Then it ask me which volume to mount. I pick music and photo.
    2. RDC to WHS. Shutdown. Ping it until I get no reply. Go downstairs and make sure its off.
    3. With my volumes still mounted and finder window still have music and photo open I shut down the Mac. In my 3 tests, the Mac did shutdown however what I did noticed is it took longer than usual.

    Another way I try was to set auto login in Accounts>Login Items.
    Addition way Command N and browse to it.

    Result is the same.

    It didn't prompt me for a password as I'd saved it in keychain. And I don't have any icons on my desktop.

    Hope this helps.

    Ken
     
  18. 1ne
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Location:
    Canada Oil Country
    #18
    Another test for you...

    If I click on "Connected Server" in Finder preference to show up on my desktop, the result is the same. The mac shuts down. Just takes a bit longer.

    Hope this helps.
     
  19. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    #19
    Interesting thanks, I end with an icon for each share on the WHS on my Mac desktop, I wonder if that is the biggest difference??
     
  20. 1ne
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Location:
    Canada Oil Country
    #20
    It didn't make any difference to me if I had the icon on the desktop or not. I added the icon via finder preference. However like I said, it took longer to shut the mac down.

    P.S I passed my Cisco Cert Exam. :)
     
  21. macrumors 6502a

    andymodem

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    #21
    No problems with my MBP and custom WHS box.
     
  22. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    #22
    Hmm, guess I need to re-install Mac OS and see if that fixes it :(
     
  23. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    #23
    I haven't had those issues either.

    Although I must admit on my Mac Pro and MacBook Pro i'm a bit lazy,
    The server browser auto finds the shared server so i merely saved the login
    credentials and i'm good.

    Good luck solving your problem though.
     
  24. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Location:
    Warner Robins,GA
    #24
    Hello,

    I've had two iMacs die on me, first one I had almost two years and it started failing to shutdown, start up correctly. I took it in to Apple and they replaced it with a new one. I had the new iMac two weeks and it failed to shut down, this time it fried the hard drive when I manually shut it down. Believe it or not Apple gave me a gift card for full purchase price for the iMac. I took the 1800+ dollars and added enough to purchase a Mac Pro. I be darn if I had it four days and the same thing it froze on shut down. I knew something in my setup was causing this. Come to find out today I got the same thing. What I noticed was I was leaving my Mac on over night but I have an HP Mediasmart server connected to my wireless network and scheduled sleep over night. Today I tried to open a folder from the server as I could still see it in my finder. It wouldn't open, I shut down and the thing froze on shutdown. I thought I'd share my issue. Any thoughts?
     
  25. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #25
    Seems like it has something to do with the HP mediasmart. I ran a custom WHS setup and never had this problem.

    A simple workaround for right now would be not to shutdown your WHS. Servers should be running 24/7 ;)
     

Share This Page