Mac firewall capabilities ?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Bismarck, Nov 9, 2006.

1. Bismarck macrumors newbie

I have a question about the Mac's firewall. I have yet to place my order for a first Mac.

There are firewalls and there are firewalls. Windows XP now comes with one built in, but from what I can see (and I'm not an XP expert), the XP firewall doesn't do as much as what ZoneAlarm does. I installed ZoneAlarm on my Win2000 box, and it allows me to check outgoing traffic. If a program that I installed wants to talk to the net, a popup will warn me and ask if it's OK. Unless I know why and I want it to, I can say no, and I can tell ZA to always say no to that program. So if I bought a program from a legit company who wants to be nosy, I can tell them to kiss off. The XP firewall does not appear to guard against outgoing traffic.

So I wonder about Mac's firewall. Does it do anything like what I described ZoneAlarm doing ?

2. 2nyRiggz macrumors 603

2nyRiggz

3. bushfrog macrumors member

As far as i know macs are pretty bullet proof !

I would switch on the MAC firewall,, and any ports you want open you can very simply .

If your concerned you could get a firewall like 'brickhouse' thats supposed to be good, but im happy with the MAC firewell.

A matter of personal preference !

4. Porco macrumors 68020

Porco

The Mac's firewall is pretty decent I think, (what with UDP blocking and Stealth mode in the advanced options, in addition to firewall logging).

As for checking when apps connect to the net etc, it sounds something like Little Snitch might be what you are after(?).

5. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

NetBarrier is the most complete firewall for Macs that I've seen or used. It can display information about processes with communications. It had warned me of several PING attacks and with a click of a button, squelched them without having to edit anything.