Mac Folder Icons

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by MatthewConnelly, Feb 4, 2007.

  1. MatthewConnelly macrumors regular

    MatthewConnelly

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #1
    When I first got my MacBook I deleted the folders I didn't think I would need from my home directory. How would I go about restoring those folders with the original folder icons?
     
  2. Fleetwood Mac macrumors 65816

    Fleetwood Mac

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
  3. MatthewConnelly thread starter macrumors regular

    MatthewConnelly

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #3
    I feel pretty stupid now. I just made a folder called "Movies" and it automatically added the original folder icon to it.
     
  4. Fleetwood Mac macrumors 65816

    Fleetwood Mac

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
  5. MatthewConnelly thread starter macrumors regular

    MatthewConnelly

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #5
    The only annoying thing is the way the "Websites" folder looks when added to the side of my Finder window. :(
     

    Attached Files:

  6. ®îçhå®? macrumors 68000

    ®îçhå®?

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    #6
    Find an icon you like and use Candybar to permanently change it then you can make it look how you want it to.
     
  7. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #7
    Or you could manually change it (which takes all of 3 seconds) and you don't have to pay for Candybar.
     
  8. MatthewConnelly thread starter macrumors regular

    MatthewConnelly

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #8
    I just want it to be the image that is shown on the folder, like all the other icons in the Finder sidebar.
     
  9. bleachthru macrumors member

    bleachthru

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #9
    If you "get info" of the folder you want to change the icon for, then "copy paste" your desired image over the icon in the get info window...voila! No need to waste money on 3rd party apps that do the same thing. Also if you are feeling fancy you can make your own images with an alpha channel in photoshop, so there is a translucent appearing background, i.e. the icon does not appear to be the whole square.
     

Share This Page