mac g3 video not working

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by vdubguy209, Nov 6, 2005.

  1. vdubguy209 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    #1
    i am new to mac. i bought a g3 with monitor and everything, and when i plug in the monitor, nothing shows up. the computer starts up. i was just wondering if i am just hooking something up wrong, or if its like the video card
     
  2. liketom macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
    #2
    what type of mac do you have ? tower Blue/White
     
  3. vdubguy209 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
  4. liketom macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
    #4
    well it's either ur graphics card - ati rage i think in that 4mb or a duff screen you got there.

    any way of testing the screen on anything else?
     
  5. joecool85 macrumors 65816

    joecool85

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Location:
    Maine
    #5
    Pretty sure its a 16mb ati rage 128 card in there...not a 4mb card, you must be thinking the 2mb (upgradeable to 6mb) in the beige g3.

    Anyway, it could be a bum card, or it could be a bum monitor...but it could be a loose card. Reach in and make sure it is securely in the PCI slot. Also, is it powering up alright so everything seems to work other than video?
     
  6. vdubguy209 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    #6
    yea it powers up and makes a noise. just nothing going on with the monitor. i was going ot check if the card is loose
     
  7. vdubguy209 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    #7
    yea i checked the card and it wasnt loose, so i think i need a new card. i wanna make that comptuer just for my photoshop work, whats a really good card to get for it?
     
  8. liketom macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
    #8
    i'm not sure what other GPU's you can drop in there but here's the full run down of your system - source from www.apple-history.com

    CPU
    CPU: PowerPC 750
    CPU Speed: 300/350/400/450 MHz
    FPU: integrated
    Bus Speed: 100 MHz
    Data Path: 64 bit
    ROM: 1 MB ROM + 3 MB toolbox ROM loaded into RAM
    RAM Type: PC100 DIMM
    Minimum RAM Speed: 100 MHz
    Onboard RAM: 0 MB
    RAM slots: 4
    Maximum RAM: 1 GB
    Level 1 Cache: 32 kB data, 32 kB instruction
    Level 2 Cache: 1 MB backside, 1:2
    Expansion Slots: 3 64-bit 33 MHz PCI, 1 32-bit 66 MHz PCI (filled)

    Video
    Video Card/Chipset: ATI RAGE 128
    VRAM: 16 MB
    Max Resolution: all resolutions supported
    Video Out: VGA

    Storage
    Hard Drive: 6-12 GB (up to 3 36 GB available BTO)
    ATA Bus: Ultra ATA
    Zip Drive: optional
    Optical Drive: 32x CD-ROM, DVD/DVD-RAM available

    Input/Output
    USB: 2
    Firewire: 2
    Audio Out: stereo 16 bit mini
    Audio In: stereo 16 bit mini
    Speaker: mono

    Networking
    Modem: optional 56 kbps
    Ethernet: 10/100Base-T

    Miscellaneous
    Codename: Yosemite
    Gestalt ID: 406
    Power: 200 Watts
    Dimensions: 17" H x 8.9" W x 18.4" D
    Weight: 28.7 lbs.
    Minimum OS: 8.5.1
    Maximum OS: 10.4.3
    Introduced: January 1999
    Terminated: September 1999

    Although it shares the name of its predecessor, the "Blue" PowerMac G3 is an altogether different animal. Sporting an all new translucent "easy-open" case design (code named "El-Capitan"), the new G3 was the first Apple model to support FireWire, Apple's new high-speed serial standard. It was also the first professional model to include USB, although it also came with a "legacy" ADB port for backwards compatibility. In a controversial move, Apple chose not to include standard serial ports, a floppy drive, or on-board SCSI (Apple instead chose Ultra ATA). An internal Zip was available, however, as were SCSI expansion cards. The G3 was available in a number of configurations, starting at $1599, and rounding out near $5000 for the fully loaded server configuration. In late April, the "Blue" line was speed-bumped by 50 MHz, bringing the high-end model to 450 MHz.
     
  9. joecool85 macrumors 65816

    joecool85

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Location:
    Maine
    #9
    I would throw in another rage 128 card, they are cheap, readily available, and good cards. Thats what I put in my beige G3 and its super sweet.
     
  10. vdubguy209 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    #10
    ok cool, where could i go on the internet to get one of those. yea it has a gig of ram i do know that, so thats why i was kinda wondering if there was maybe a better higher mb video card i could get.
     
  11. vdubguy209 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    #11
    well i put in a new video card. and still nothign. its the 32mb one instead of the 16mb. they didnt have any of the 16mb on ebay. i know its not a bad monitor cause im using the monitor right now. is there any difference in a monitor you would use for a mac and pc? anyone have any suggestions, or do i just have another money pit?
     
  12. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #12
    I know it sounds unconnected but: replace the PRAM battery.

    One symptom of a dying PRAM battery is corrupted Parameter RAM that prevents video from syncing up with the monitor. 1/2AA 3.6V Lithium cell, should be about $10 at your local electronics store. You want the kind without pigtails. Before removing the old one, note which direction it is oriented, dont put the new one in backwards. When you take ot the old one, leave it out for a while to let the circuit completely drain. Push teh Cuda button on the motherboard. Install the new battery and try again.
     

Share This Page