Mac G4 - OS x 10.4 Upgrade

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Hungryjoey, Oct 12, 2006.

1. Hungryjoey macrumors newbie

Oct 12, 2006
    Hello, I'm new here. I just have a few questions.

First of all I am a complete Mac Noob so bear with me. I recently aquired a Mac G4 (PCI version ) with 512MB PC 133 and 500Mhz CPU ( i think ) It runs very smoothly and is in tip top condition.

I figure I am willing to upgrade the version of mac ( currently running old 9.2 ) To something like OS x 10.4 If possible. If this isn't possible I am open to suggestions how I can go about upgrading this, But unfortunetly 9.2 Is just feeling far too Old.

Any suggestions. I really have no clue when it comes to macs.

Edit : I also hope I posted this in the correct section, There really is so many sections I didn't know. Appologies if Inncorrect.
  2. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

Apr 29, 2005
    San Francisco
    Yeah 10.4 will run ok on that G4, but if you want it to be better then you better upgrade the amount of RAM that is in that machine. Otherwise I say go ahead and do it.
  3. Jaffa Cake macrumors Core

Jaffa Cake

Aug 1, 2004
    The City of Culture, Englandshire
    You shouldn't have any problems with running Tiger on that Mac, although if you can stretch to adding some more RAM it certainly wouldn't hurt. You might not get the fancy Core Image effects (like the Dashboard ripples) but this is eye candy that isn't going to affect functionality.
  4. Hungryjoey thread starter macrumors newbie

Oct 12, 2006
    Well I guess that is good to hear.

Ok so when I get the discs how exactly do I go about installing ? Reason why I am asking is I was trying earlier with friends discs just to see would i be able to do it when I purchase the software... but to no avail. Couldn't get anything out of it, But its probably me doing something wrong.

Can somebody explain to me how to typically install fresh a copy of 10.4 on this G4 ? Before I buy it, Will order a copy tonight.