Mac G4 problems, no video on boot.

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by robisc, Aug 20, 2003.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Location:
    Athens, AL
    #1
    I decided to build a G4 and got the parts here, I have a Gigabit Ethernet board with a 1GHz CPU upgrade, also a Mac flashed Geforce AGP card, my problem is that everything seems to be working (or so it seems) but when I power up the machine I get no video, I have a HDD that was in a PC and it has no Mac OS on it (probably has Windoze on it) but I am booting with my OSX CD in the drive, but still I get no video, does this sound like a video card problem or something else?
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2002
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    #2
  3. macrumors 68040

    applemacdude

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2001
    Location:
    Over The Rainbow
    #3
    Boot the mac and press apple-option-o-f although you can see it a screen will come up. typein "reset-all" maybe that works
     
  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Location:
    Athens, AL
    #4
    I am going to have to get an Apple keyboard in order to do this correct? Teh Apple keyboard I have is a wireless and doen;t seem to work until the system is booted into the OS. Here is another issue, according to Giga Design's site there is this info:

    IMPORTANT:
    If Operating System and Firmware updates are needed, they should be done BEFORE installing the G-Celerator.

    Boot the system in Mac OS 9.2.1 or 9.2.2, and from the Apple Menu select and open Apple System Profiler. Click on the triangle next to Production Information, and locate the Boot ROM version. If the version number is $0004.28f1, or the system is a Quicksilver or Quicksilver 2002 model, you may proceed to step number 4.

    IMPORTANT:
    If the system has an earlier firmware version, and is one of the following models, a firmware update is required for the system to operate.

    Model Name

    Original Processor Speeds

    AGP Graphics
    (Sawtooth)

    350MHz / 400MHz / 450MHz / 500MHz

    Mac Server G4

    450MHz / 500MHz

    Gigabit Ethernet

    400MHz / 450MHz (Dual) / 500MHz (Dual)

    Digital Audio

    466MHz / 533MHz / 533MHz (Dual) / 667MHz / 733MHz

    Quicksilver

    733MHz / 800MHz (Dual) / 867MHz

    Quicksilver 2002

    800MHz / 933MHz / 1GHz (Dual)


    My system was a gigabit ethernet and had a 400 MHz CPU in it, I don't have the CPU and I don't know of a way to get the firmware updated without being able to boot it up do you?
     
  5. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2002
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    #5
    It could very well be the firmware.

    http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=86117

    Covers which firmware has to be installed in which models prior to running Mac OS X on those machines. If you can boot off 9, and install the correct firmware, then X should be to install as well.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Location:
    Athens, AL
    #6
    That is the problem I can't boot into OS 9 because there is no OS installed and even if there was I get no video with this CPU and don't have the original CPU, so I need another way to upgrade the firmware.
     
  7. macrumors 68040

    applemacdude

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2001
    Location:
    Over The Rainbow
    #7
    The apple-option-o-f doesnt do anything to it just resets it, but then again your cpu upgrade may not be workin with your version of firmware...
     

Share This Page