Mac hanging at blue screen

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by GeekOFComedy, Apr 11, 2011.

  1. GeekOFComedy
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Location:
    Ireland
    #1
    It's weird, My MacBook Pro now wont boot into OS X lion, before the login screen it shows the mouse for a second and now it sticks at blue. :eek:
     
  2. Mr. Retrofire
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 601

    Mr. Retrofire

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    www.emiliana.cl
    #2
    Do not play with the fire, kid!

    =====-----=====

    =====-----=====

    From http://support.apple.com/kb/ht1564
    (Mac OS X: What is Safe Boot, Safe Mode?)

    "Mac OS X v10.5.6 or later: A Safe Boot deletes the dynamic loader shared cache at (/var/db/dyld/). A cache with issues may cause a blue screen on startup, particularly after a Software Update. Restarting normally recreates this cache."

    =====-----=====

    From http://support.apple.com/kb/ht1455
    (Mac OS X: Starting up in Safe Mode)

    "To start up into Safe Mode (to Safe Boot), do this:
    1. Be sure your Mac is shut down.
    2. Press the power button.
    3. Immediately after you hear the startup tone, hold the Shift key. The Shift key should be held as soon as possible after the startup tone, but not before the tone.
    4. Release the Shift key when you see the gray Apple icon and the progress indicator (looks like a spinning gear)."

    =====-----=====

    :)

    =====-----=====
     
  3. GeekOFComedy
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Location:
    Ireland
    #3
    Tried safe boot, didn't even boot in safe boot
     
  4. GeekOFComedy
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Location:
    Ireland
    #4
    Also I even tried restoring twice into earlier OS X Lion backups but that didn't even work :/ :(
     
  5. Mr. Retrofire
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 601

    Mr. Retrofire

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    www.emiliana.cl
    #5
    I had a similar problem with Lion DP1. I erased the HD with Apples Disk Utility and reinstalled Lion DP1. However, the safe boot works usually in the final versions of Mac OS X.
     
  6. mrapplegate
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #6
    Can you get into the recovery partition ( command-r ) ?
     
  7. GeekOFComedy
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Location:
    Ireland
    #7
    Yup, I tried fixing the permissions, says the group was 0 instead of 80. After that and I reboot same thing :mad:
     
  8. mrapplegate
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #8

    During a verbose boot does it hang on the same thing each time?
     
  9. macmikey2
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    macmikey2

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Location:
    West Chester, PA
    #9
    Mine did the same thing. Both preview versions.

    I would restart, blue hang, then restart with SHIFT and it would start normally. Restart again, 50% of time it would hang at blue screen.

    Verbose did not help as the screen mine hung at was after OS X stops loading scrolling text, so could not see where it would stop (looking for 'we're hanging here...' message).

    Finally gave up on Lion yesterday and went back to SL. Not worth trouble. Reported a bunch of stuff so I did my developer thing, now I'll just wait it out until release is near.

    Mikey
     
  10. mac care
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    mac care

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Location:
    Pune
    #10
    chip level repiar macbook

    you have to replace the GPU on motherboard 100% perfect solution
    2nd option is replace total motherboard but its very costly
    GPU replacing take only 11000/- in pune with 3 months warranty \
    call:-9923337005
     

Share This Page