Mac Help on my PB is messed up

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by OldManJimbo, Aug 24, 2004.

  1. OldManJimbo macrumors 6502

    OldManJimbo

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Location:
    California Coast
    #1
    The HELP area on my Finder screen doesn't work.
    I called AppleCare and they walked me through a process of clearing a few plist files form my Library, but it didn't fix the problem.
    HELP in the other apps is OK but the global HELP that comes up in Finder appears to be dead.
    Any ideas?
     
  2. jssweb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Location:
    Fort Worth
    #2
    I just noticed the same problem this morning on my PowerBook running 10.3.5.
     
  3. OldManJimbo thread starter macrumors 6502

    OldManJimbo

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Location:
    California Coast
    #3
    Ah-ha - I had not thought of that. This problem did show up after I installed the 10.3.5 update. Hmmm -
     
  4. comictimes macrumors 6502a

    comictimes

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Location:
    Berkeley, California
    #4
    hmm... same thing here... and I too have the 10.3.5 update. How intriguing...
     
  5. OldManJimbo thread starter macrumors 6502

    OldManJimbo

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Location:
    California Coast
    #5
    Check this, too

    Check your About This Mac>System Profile to see if your Mac "serial number" is shown. I think mine went away when I ran the 10.3.5 update.

    Does Apple monitor these sites or does someone need to call them, if this is related to the update.
     
  6. Applespider macrumors G4

    Applespider

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    looking through rose-tinted spectacles...
    #6
    I have a PB with 10.3.5 and I have Mac Help in Finder - and a serial number

    Sorry.... to make you dig deeper to find a common thread...
     
  7. OldManJimbo thread starter macrumors 6502

    OldManJimbo

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Location:
    California Coast
    #7
    Here's the HELP fix

    Thanks to the guys at AppleCare -
    HDD>Home Folder>Library>Caches

    Drag the Caches folder to the desktop and restart.

    This regenerates a new Cache folder in the Home>Library and allows help to work again.

    The AppleCare tech told me to leave the old Cache folder sitting on the desktop for a few days to make sure there wans't anything in it that I needed.
     

Share This Page