mac hotmail attachments prob

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by psycho bob, Feb 4, 2004.

  1. psycho bob macrumors 6502a

    psycho bob

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Location:
    Leeds, England
    #1
    I cannot send attachments via hotmail they always come out scrambled at the recipients end. They are usually jpeg or tiff files which open fine at my end in native apps like photoshop. They can even be sent via msn or ichat without probs but hotmail just messes them up. This happen to anyone else.
    Soon as I send the same files via hotmail on a pc they work fine. What's going on. I've tried using both the latest versions of safari and explorer but the result is the same.
    Guess this is why I need a .mac account.
    Thanks for reading.
     
  2. floatingspirit macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2001
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #2
    Hi,

    I also have trouble with hotmail, though slightly different from you.

    With Safari, I can't open any attachments that I receive at hotmail. The site just keeps asking me to sign in, even though I already am. However, if i use Explorer, I can get them.

    Sometimes, when I get attachments from pc's at my .mac email account, I can't open/read them, unless I open them through webmail access on a pc.

    Also, when I send attachments from my .mac email, pc's seem to get 2 items per attachment I send; one nothing item and the actual attachment itself.

    This isn't helpful info, but at lease you know your pain is shared.
     
  3. psycho bob thread starter macrumors 6502a

    psycho bob

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Location:
    Leeds, England
    #3
    it's just a really strange problem. Using the beta version of safari I couldn't log into to hotmail fullstop but then with version one found it had been fixed so went back. This however has never been fixed. But it also happens (if memory serves) when using explorer so it must be a mac/hotmail issue rather than simply the browser!?
     
  4. jeffy.dee-lux macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Location:
    montreal
    #4
    yeah, i also get the whole please sign in thing when i try to download an attachment through safari. works fine with IE though.
    someone go tell apple or microsoft, tell them to get their acts together.
    hahaha
     
  5. Phazer80s macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2002
    Location:
    Above the 49th
    #5
    Not usually pessimistic, but...

    I'm pretty sure it's Microsoft's fault. It seems one step away from banning Safari users outright. Sheesh.

    And on a related note, check my sig.:
     
  6. floatingspirit macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2001
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #6
    nice one
     
  7. Coca-Cola macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Location:
    WA
    #7
    Hey, I have the same problem, but only with my .mac account and my Adelphia cable connection. Works fine everywhere but home. I can't send photo's in any format without scramble and corruption. You don't by any chance have Adelphia Cable? If so, write a letter to tech support, as their phone support staff is utterly clueless.
     
  8. psycho bob thread starter macrumors 6502a

    psycho bob

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Location:
    Leeds, England
    #8
    Fraid not I'm on NTL in the uk. Its a really strange prob but is becoming increasingly annoying. I have no probs login in but hotmail really gets screwed up. When writing emails there are no advanced format options.
    I was going to get a .mac account but it sounds like people are having problems there also. Must be either a mac/microsoft issue or mac/service provider. As I may have said PC hotmail attachements work fine both reading (on a mac or pc) and sending. So it's not a hotmail/service provider issue.
     
  9. BenRoethig macrumors 68030

    BenRoethig

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    Dubuque, Iowa
    #9
    Re: Not usually pessimistic, but...

    For me it has. I haven't been able to access hotmail from either Safari on my iBook or Netscape on the family Compaq for about a week. IE works fine on both platforms though. I smell something fishy going on.
     

Share This Page