.Mac + iCal sync = not worky

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by illegalprelude, Sep 12, 2005.

  1. illegalprelude macrumors 68000

    illegalprelude

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    #1
    well...ive never been able to sync my .Mac with my iCal. I tell it to sync it and such when I put i new events but when I log onto my .Mac, i never see anything under the calander part. Im still on Panther btw.

    Ive made my address book sync, my bookmarks and all that good stuff. just can never get this one to do it. Am I missing something? :confused:
     
  2. DJY macrumors 6502a

    DJY

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Location:
    Canberra AUST
    #2
    You don't "sync" iCal... you need to publish it.
     
  3. illegalprelude thread starter macrumors 68000

    illegalprelude

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
  4. Whyren macrumors 6502a

    Whyren

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Location:
    east of the West and west of the East
    #4
    Select a calendar, go to the Calendar menu -> Publish. Of course, this will only do one calendar at a time (get them to change this), so if you want multiples, I'd suggest iCalPublish.
     
  5. illegalprelude thread starter macrumors 68000

    illegalprelude

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    #5
    ok see All my Red events for example are Birthdays. Well when I click on it, on the side it says "published on .Mac"

    When I go on File / Calander and under it, Publish is Grey so i cant even click on Publish it..... but I feel like its already published?
     
  6. DJY macrumors 6502a

    DJY

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Location:
    Canberra AUST
    #6
  7. illegalprelude thread starter macrumors 68000

    illegalprelude

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    #7
    hhmm. See I was under the impression that it would show on the main .Mac page

    [​IMG]
     
  8. jsalzer macrumors 6502a

    jsalzer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    #8
    Slow down

    Let's not confuse the poor boy. Publish is a one-way deal.

    You *should* be able to sync your cals among multiple computers via .Mac.

    However, it's extremely iffy lately. I'm in the same situation as the original poster. Everything seems to sync fine except the calendars. And I await a good answer with him. But Publish isn't the answer. What a pain it would be to have to subscribe to your own calendars and only be able to edit each from one.

    :)
     
  9. illegalprelude thread starter macrumors 68000

    illegalprelude

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    #9
    oh ok. thank god its just not me then cause i see the way he means but i was under the impression (and correct one too from ur post) that .Mac should allow you to do that.

    Pretty new to the Mac world myself. so appreciate your help jsalzer :cool:
     
  10. jsalzer macrumors 6502a

    jsalzer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    #10
    Great timing

    Actually, I finally got everything from my work calendar onto my home calendar today!!! It's been a couple of months!

    I unregistered both (from the .Mac preferences panel). Then reset .Mac from my work computer. Then reset my home computer from .Mac. And now I see all!!!

    But, of course, that only worked because, when it stopped working, I only entered new data onto my work Mac. But, it's something to try.

    First attempt - unregister and re-register each.

    And, if that fails, reset the data on two of the three with the one you believe to be the best (if you haven't been entering on all lately.)

    HTH!!! Maybe someone wiser than I can give better advice???
     

Share This Page