Mac IICX Issues........

Discussion in 'Apple Collectors' started by macg4, Jan 3, 2006.

  1. macg4 macrumors 6502a

    macg4

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Location:
    Des Moines,Iowa
    #1
    Alright got a iicx off ebay with 50mhz upgrade card,ethernet card, and apple vid card. got it home plugged it and nothing, not even a click of power. next i have a iici and a quadra 700 power supply which are similar. put in the quadra 700 ps and still nothing. dropped in the iici powersupply and the pram battery from the iici since i knew it worked fine, and hit the power and now i see the motherboard/power led flicker on and off and hear a power click, see fan on powersupply try to move, but no farther than that. so next i put the iicx powersupply in the iici and it booted right up. so i have ruled out the powersupply and the pram as being the issues. looks like the motherboard may be causing the issue, let me know what u guys think
     
  2. aquajet macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Location:
    VA
    #2
    A dead PRAM battery can prevent the Mac II series machine from turning on. Not sure what to say about the IIci power supply in the IIcx, it should have worked as far as I know. At least it's working now...:)
     
  3. macg4 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    macg4

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Location:
    Des Moines,Iowa
    #3
    Well it isnt working even with the different power supply.ill try the voltmeter test on the battery, i did also order some new 3.6 pram batteries for my whole mac ii collection .where would the little pram reset button be located on the iicx motherboard? i have tried it with no battery and no result as well. i have let it sit for a day or so and tried it again as well. I was going to try the trickle charges idea, but the only thing i was worried about, is that as soon as u plug in a power cable to the powersupply it starts clicking, and flashing power led on/off, even without hitting the power button on the keyboard or the back of the case. even when u hit the power button it does nothing and continues to click and power led goes on/off.would it be good/safe to trickle power when it constantly clicking and trying to power on like that?
     
  4. aquajet macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Location:
    VA
    #4
    Try fiddling with the power button on the back of the computer. Sometimes they can act flakey.
     
  5. macg4 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    macg4

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Location:
    Des Moines,Iowa
    #5
    yeah i have done that too. i have thought about just taking the motherboard out and pressing the button by hand
     
  6. macEfan macrumors 65816

    macEfan

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Location:
    Forbidden, you do not have access to that server
    #6
    It sounds like a power short... I had a IICI once that acted similar to yours...It turns out the processor upgreade was not seated properly, therefore causing a short... It could also be a bad motherboard, or a bad soddering joint.. Good Luck! I would check all expansion cards/boards an see what happens..
     
  7. macg4 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    macg4

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Location:
    Des Moines,Iowa
    #7
    yeah i have tried reseating the daystar processer upgrade. i have been trying all this troubleshooting with hd,floppy, and all nubus expansion cards removed.
     
  8. aquajet macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Location:
    VA
  9. chatin macrumors 6502

    chatin

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    #9
    Logicboard.

    The capacitors in the old cx and ci's do dry out, so you will need to replace the board or recondition it.

    :)
     
  10. macg4 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    macg4

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Location:
    Des Moines,Iowa
    #10
    its weird, because with the orginal powersupply it doesnt even click or anything. when i put in the iici or quadra 700 powersupply it clicks
     
  11. Lord Blackadder macrumors G5

    Lord Blackadder

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Location:
    Sod off
    #11
    I'm assuming you tried booting without the Daystar upgrade in there (it lives in the cache slot, correct?). I'm as stumped as you - it sounds like a flaky logic board to me.

    Do you have a IIci that works? If so I believe your Daystar upgrade card should run in that and you can at least test it to see if it is OK.

    That clicking sound you hear may be a breaker...
     
  12. 840quadra Moderator

    840quadra

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Location:
    Twin Cities Minnesota
    #12
    While you are checking voltages, see how much power the pRam battery has. If it is dead, that may be part of your issue as stated before. I guess you could just wait for the new batteries to arrive, but it may be worth the time to check.
     
  13. macg4 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    macg4

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Location:
    Des Moines,Iowa
    #13
    yeah i have tried with and without the daystar upgrade. the daystar works fine in my iici and iisi. yeah the pram shows 0 voltage, so its dead
     

Share This Page