Mac Maintenance

Discussion in 'macOS' started by EricNau, Oct 26, 2005.

1. EricNau Moderator emeritus

EricNau

OK,
    I'm still relatively new to Mac, and I had a question for those of you who know more than me.
    On a Windows, you have to perform maintenance tasks, such as de-fragmenting the HDD, etc.
    Are there any maintenance type things I should be doing on my Mac, and how do I do them?
    Thanks

2. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

grapes911

Make sure you mac is on at night once and a while. Scripts get run at night. There is a daily, weekly, and monthly script. If you don't leave your computer on, either (1) get a program called anacron that will run the scripts when possible, or (2) change the time of the script. Also, repair permissions once and a while.

Other will tell you of many other programs they run. Most of those programs just run the daily, weekly, and monthly scripts. I say just stick to the basics.

3. CalGrunt macrumors regular

If you're running the newest version of OS X, there's no need to do this anymore. The scripts will run whenever you either start your computer or wake it up. No need to keep it on all night like you used to.

See the following:

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=156767&highlight=scripts

4. EricNau thread starter Moderator emeritus

EricNau

So the ONLY thing I need to do is repair disk permissions once in a while...seems too easy.

5. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

grapes911

I'm going to test this out. I'll make a launchd command for a soon to be time and then I'll put my computer to sleep. I'll be right back.

6. CalGrunt macrumors regular

Grapes, ya gotta be running 10.4.1. If you're running 10.4.0, it ain't gonna work.

7. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

grapes911

I have 10.4.2. I disabled anancron and it seems to run when a launchd command, but not when in cron. So anacron is still necessary, just not for daily, weekly, monthly, or any other lanuchd command.