Mac Mini 2012 crashes after RAM upgrade

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by art-tour, Nov 29, 2012.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Location:
    Dublin
    #1
    Hi,

    I am new to this forum so hallo everybody ;)
    I was trying to find an answer to described below problem but couldn't find any.
    I am using new Mac Mini quad core i7, 2.3 ghz, 4gb ram . Brilliant machine however...
    This morning I got a post with 16GB ram memory (from ebay)
    After installing it computer or rather screen starts to behave weird. After about 20-30sec all screen was covered with strange colorful marks, computer got frozen and all system went down...then restarted without my intention.


    I am back now to my original 4gb and all works great again.

    Any idea what is wrong? is it a new RAM problem?:confused:
    (below is the image of the frozen screen)

    http://tinyurl.com/cjkgkkz

    thank you!
     
  2. Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    #2
    Is the new ram seated correctly in the slots? I would return and try a replacement if it is.

    To me it looks like a logic board / gpu problem, but that would be consistent even when you used the old ram.
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    #3
    I agree with trying to re-seat the ram. If that doesn't work, the RAM is probably bad. Usually, if its the wrong type of RAM, the computer won't even boot.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Location:
    Dublin
    #4
    hmm, I will try again then...give me a few minutes please and will let you know ;)
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    borostef

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    #5
    Bad RAM… It happens sometimes… I had the same problem with the 16GB kit from OWC...
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    #6
    Corsair vengeance?
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    #7
    You were holding the RAM wrong.
     
  8. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    #8
    The new RAM is either bad or you didn't install it properly. Probably bad, because you don't seem to have any trouble installing the original RAM. That's why I don't buy RAM from eBay.
     
  9. art-tour, Nov 29, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2012

    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Location:
    Dublin
    #9
    HI, I am back. tried to reinstal it again and still the same problem. all works fine with my originally installed 4gb...
    will probably send it back... it's Eudar (from Taiwan by sold by UK based company)

    Thanks a lot!
     
  10. macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #10
    cheap ram tends to not work well.
     
  11. macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    #11
    yeah happens I don't know if amazon uk will ship to you but here is a link


    I have two sets in my minis

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Crucial-mem...OC/ref=sr_1_10?ie=UTF8&qid=1354239316&sr=8-10


    ----------




    I am usa based but crucial is good ram all over the world.
     
  12. macrumors 6502

    G-Mo

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Location:
    Auckland, NZ
    #12
    Was the RAM Apple Qualified?
     
  13. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011
    Location:
    the corner of Fire and Brimstone
    #13
    Please, do tell what this entails.
     
  14. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #14
  15. Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    #15
    I have used Crucial ram in all my computers for years, and never had a problem.

    OP, just by from a reputable seller and you should be fine.
     
  16. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    #16
    I have 16Gb from Kingston , no problems .
     
  17. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Location:
    Dublin
    #17
    It wasn't cheap. well, comparing to apple prices it was but who would pay the crazy money they are asking for? ;)
    Anyway, here is the website where you can get the memory which always works. I was upgrading my old iMac twice. I just checked it now and looks like they have the memory I am looking for. They didn't week ago...
    I should wait a bit instead of getting something I don't know
    http://www.mrmemory.co.uk/

    thanks for all links and suggestions!
     
  18. macrumors 68030

    fhall1

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    NY State of mind
    #18
    If you're really inquisitive, what you could do is use one of the RAM modules that came with the Mini in the "inner" slot and then replace the outer one with one, then the other of your upgrade modules. One should work and you'll have 10GB RAM, the other should fail - that would be the bad one....however, you'll want to replace the set, not just the one.
     
  19. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Location:
    Dublin
    #19
    I just started 'return item' procedure yesterday. I am not expecting any problems with that. Will order new set from MrMemory after that ;)
    cheers
     
  20. macrumors 6502

    G-Mo

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Location:
    Auckland, NZ
    #20
    Apple certified or qualified RAM means the product has been designed and tested for your Apple computer. While non-certified memory may work, certified/qualified RAM is guaranteed to work (or the module is faulty).
     

Share This Page