Mac mini connected to a HDTV

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by Flynnstone, Jan 18, 2005.

  1. Flynnstone macrumors 65816

    Flynnstone

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Location:
    Cold beer land
    #1
    Does anyone have an info on connecting a Mac to a HDTV?
    I have a Hitachi that has .. it looks like a DVI connector on the back.
    Could I connect a computer to this connector and get a great picture?
    If I can, can a Mac mini (or other) drive the TV to 1080i for great display of photos.

    An eyeHome looks cool, but I want higher resolution.

    Anyone with solutions? ideas? pointers?
     
  2. maya macrumors 68040

    maya

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    somewhere between here and there.
    #2
    I see no reason as to why the Mac Mini will not work for what you want to do with it.

    Apple does run the 23" ACD HD with the mini via DVI, so I see no reason as to it not being able to drive your HDTV. :)
     
  3. 3Memos macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    #3
    The DVI plug from the mini is different from the DVI plug on most HDTVs (at least the Sony WEGA HDTVs). I tried several combinations and none of them seem to work. New HDTVs now have HDMI plugs, which only serves to confuse us even more.
     
  4. Flynnstone thread starter macrumors 65816

    Flynnstone

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Location:
    Cold beer land
    #4
    Did you get them to physically connect?
    or you got them connected but no picture?
     
  5. 3Memos macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    #5
    I tried connecting my PB to the WEGA but the connectors don't physical fit.
     
  6. maya macrumors 68040

    maya

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    somewhere between here and there.
    #6
    I am sure you can get adapters for DVI.

    I know there are several different types of DVI:

    1. analogue
    2. analogue and digital
    3. digital

    the Mac mini uses the 2nd one analogue and digital. :) <-- marketing to PC users remember. ;) :)
     
  7. stcanard macrumors 65816

    stcanard

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Location:
    Vancouver
    #7
    <sigh>

    To quote an overused line ... that's what I love about standards. There are so many of them to choose from.
     
  8. maya macrumors 68040

    maya

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    somewhere between here and there.
    #8
    ROTF, DVI is the standard. No one said what type of DVI, its all in the details. ;) :)


    most HDTV use DVI analogue and digital, not much to worry.

    ACD are DVI digital. <-- that is why I love they displays. :)
     
  9. ftaok macrumors 601

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #9
    Well, if you take a look at Apple's page for the mini , you'll see that they show the mini connected to a Samsung DLP HDTV. So you're probably OK with connecting it to your Hitachi. The only hold up might be the native resolution of your display. The Samsung shown is 1280x720p, so if your Hitachi can accept that, then you're probably OK.

    NOTE - I do realized that just because the mini is shown with the Samsung doesn't really mean anything other than the ad people put them there.
     
  10. 3Memos macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
  11. ftaok macrumors 601

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #11
    Yes, but not for video (generally). The TV's that have Firewire are for connections to D-VHS decks and maybe camcorders. Besides, I don't think that Macs are able to output it's display video via Firewire.
     
  12. maya macrumors 68040

    maya

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    somewhere between here and there.
    #12
    You are indeed correct, the FireWire ports on TV sets are for camcorders to present slid shows and view the movie content, etc. :)
     
  13. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #13
    You shouldn't have any troubles. Just make sure to use DVI-D Cables. The Connection on the "mini" takes DVI-A and DVI-D, the HDTV will only take DVI-D. The difference is related to the orientation of the straight pin on the one side of the DVI port. One is | the other is -. Go to your local Radio Shack, and pick up the appropriate cable, since they know a lot about TVs.

    TEG
     
  14. 0s and 1s macrumors 6502a

    0s and 1s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2004
    Location:
    OK, USA
    #14
    OT: maya, is there something you DON'T know? You're simply amazing.
     
  15. Flynnstone thread starter macrumors 65816

    Flynnstone

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Location:
    Cold beer land
    #15
    I connected my PowerMac to my HDTV last night. I used a DVI cable from a Hansol monitor.
    It was simple. Simple.
    My Mac recognized the TV properly.
    I could drive the TV at up to 1900 x1080 interlaced. High res with some flickering. I also tried 1280x720 progressive, worked like a charm.
    I can see a Mac mini sitting next to my TV
    :D
     
  16. davidwes macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    #16
    how is text?

    How is the text on the hdtv? That is what I've been hearing as the low point of using a tv instead of a computer screen.
    David
     
  17. dejo Moderator

    dejo

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    The Centennial State
    #17
    My Sony Wega has a 'DVI - HDTV' port. According to the manual:

    "Digital Visual Interface (DVI): Can accomodate a copy-protected digital connection (HDCP) to other devices (such as digital set-top boxes) that have compatible interfaces. The DVI-HDTV input terminal is compliant with the EIA-861 standard and is not intended for used with personal computers."

    Two things. 1) I thought DVI stood for Digital Video Interface. 2) "not intended" sounds to me like "allowed (not prohibited) but not recommended".

    Anyone tried hooking their personal computer to their Sony Wega via DVI?
     
  18. 0s and 1s macrumors 6502a

    0s and 1s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2004
    Location:
    OK, USA
    #18
    i'm using the mac mini on my sony 35xbr910 and it looks horrible. there is a lot of flickering and when i lower the resolution, parts of the screen are cut off. what are my options now? :(
     
  19. dejo Moderator

    dejo

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    The Centennial State
    #19
    Which connection are you using?
     
  20. clayj macrumors 604

    clayj

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Location:
    visiting from downstream
    #20
    I like my Sony WEGA TV too much to try that. :)
     
  21. 0s and 1s macrumors 6502a

    0s and 1s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2004
    Location:
    OK, USA
    #21
    DVI. I really don't know what to do. I was told 3 times by 3 different reps that they confirmed that it was going to look perfect. I told what I was going to use it for and they said that I wouldn't have any problems. I know people have said that they would mainly use this for DVD usage and iPhoto and such, but with this horrible resolution, I'd rather use my XBox as a DVD player and use my camera's memory sticks for a slideshow.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks :(
     
  22. Flynnstone thread starter macrumors 65816

    Flynnstone

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Location:
    Cold beer land
    #22
    The flickering I saw was most notable at 1900x1080. Interlace.
    Fixed pictures appeared OK but the window edges flickered a lot.
    At the 1280x720 (progressive) the flickering was much less.
    Would I use it for small text ... no. A TV is just not crisp like a monitor.
    For static pictures and movies, its excellent.
    Also you can burn in certain types of TVs, so I wouldn't use it as a computer screen.
     
  23. Lacero macrumors 604

    Lacero

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #23
    I'm going to wait until the issue of connections are resolved before I buy the next HDTV set. Too many interfaces makes for some very confused customers.
     
  24. Rod Rod macrumors 68020

    Rod Rod

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #24
    I vaguely remember an overscan compensation check-box from back when I connected my iBook to TVs. See if you have such a check-box.
     

Share This Page