Mac Mini doesn't take airport cards!?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by bosrs1, Feb 23, 2005.

  1. bosrs1
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    #1
    Nice of Apple to let us know ahead of time that the Mac Mini does not take a normal airport card but rather a mezzanine card that NONE of the stores have gotten in yet.
     
  2. jeremy.king
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #2
    Edit: I guess you could interpret not user-installable as available.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. bosrs1
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    #3
    I suppose that's one way of looking at it. LOL


    Then again that little blurb would lead me or anyone else I know to assume it takes a normal APExtreme card like the rest of the product line.
     
  4. PlaceofDis
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #4
    it does say AirPort Extreme Card, but it also says that it is not user-installable, and that an authorized installation has to be done, so it is no surprise that you cannot get the card right now
     
  5. bosrs1
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    #5
    Still it is misleading. Not to mention annoying for those of us that don't care to pay 50 bucks to do a simple install. Though apparently even genii at Apple stores can't do it as of yet.
     
  6. ChrisBrightwell
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68020

    ChrisBrightwell

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL
    #6
  7. bosrs1
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    #7
  8. appleguy
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    appleguy

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2002
    Location:
    Auckland, NZ
    #8
    Just got an airport extreme Card in my Mac mini although I did already have the Mezzaine card already as I had the Bluetooth Module as a Custom Build.
    Works like a Charm (gets a better signal than my eMac.)
    Also runs so sweet with 1GB of RAM
     
  9. bosrs1
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    #9
    I'm starting to wish I had direct ordered mine... but I've had so much trouble with BTOs in the past.
     

Share This Page