Mac mini file server setup advice needed

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by PkennethV, Oct 29, 2006.

1. PkennethV macrumors 6502a

I will be getting a mac mini in a few weeks and would like to be using it as a file server. I've never done anything like this before so I need some suggestions on programs I need to make this happen. Is it possible to have my music and videos in my iTunes library on an EHD hooked up to a mac Mini and have my PowerBook/MacBookPro acess them thorugh a wireless network? If that is possible when I sync my ipod (videos too), can I plug it in to my laptop or will it need to sync with the Mac Mini since that is the computer with the EHD hooked up to. Can I do the same with my iPhoto library? If this works out then it would be great because I can free up 40GB of music photos, and videos on my portables. How might I set this up?
    thanks for all suggestions

2. jsw Moderator emeritus

jsw

It is definitely possible to use an external drive.

Copy your iTunes (and/or iPhoto) library folder(s) to the external drive. Hold down the 'option' key while starting iTunes. It'll ask you for a library location. Choose the external.

This will work on any Mac with the external drive mounted. To automatically mount the external, the easiest way to do so is to mount it manually once (in Finder, press ⌘-K to connect to the mini, choose the external, and mount it), then go to System Preferences...->Accounts->Login Items, then drag the mounted disk's icon to that panel. From then on, it'll automount.

3. JAT macrumors 603

My Mini boots off an external drive in the first place. Firewire, of course, a 400GB. I just use the internal for testing and Windows via Boot Camp. But if you only have 40GB total to share right now, this would likely fit on the internal drive if you get at least an 80GB. At least to start, you can always add drives later.