Mac mini -> Onkyo 607 power cycling jacks up resolution

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by trumb1mj, Jul 2, 2009.

  1. trumb1mj
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    #1
    So I have my mac mini connected to my onkyo 607 receiver with DVI -> HDMI connection respectively. Whenever I cycle (flip on/off) the power on my onkyo receiver it changes the resolution on my mini.

    Has anyone run into this? Is there a way to "lock" the resolution on my mini?
     
  2. geoffreak
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68020

    geoffreak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #2
    This is normal for HDMI switches. The EDID of your display doesn't get transferred after losing a connection.
    You will need to reconnect the cable to the switch every time you turn on the device, or get something like this to preserve the information.
     
  3. trumb1mj
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    #3
    this seems like a very common issue. I can't believe there isn't some software that can control this..
     
  4. geoffreak
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68020

    geoffreak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #4
    Nope. This is part of the HDCP standard in the core of the OS and hardware. Can't change that, sadly.
     
  5. trumb1mj
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    #5
    I am having trouble finding any other device like this.. It seems like Geffen is the only company that makes one. What exactly is this device called?
     
  6. geoffreak
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68020

    geoffreak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
  7. trumb1mj
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    #7
    yeah, I saw that but I was unable to find anything else on the web like it. I was just wondering if I should be doing a specific search..
     
  8. glap1922
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    #8
    I have having a very similar problem to this with my Mini and an Onkyo receiver. I looked at the product mentioned above but didn't want to spend the cash, my solution was to just plug the hdmi in the Mini directly into my TV and just send sound through the receiver. Combined with a harmony remote that sets up all my inputs it works perfectly.

    I then had an issue where after rebooting the Mini the overscan was all messed up. The solution was to uncheck the overscan box, then check it again, basically cycling it. That solved the problem but was annoying so I just got an applescript to do it automatically and set it to run on startup. Now my Mini runs perfectly.

    Hopefully these solution can help with your issue.
     
  9. geoffreak
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68020

    geoffreak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #9
    I use my Onkyo receiver (not sure of model) as both surround sound and a video switch for my display. My display only has one digital in port (DVI) and I wanted to switch between 3 devices so having a device that can remember the EDID is essential.
     

Share This Page