Mac mini processor Q's

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by iPhil, Jan 27, 2007.

  1. iPhil macrumors 68040

    iPhil

    #1
    Pic below:


    Question is will a E6600 processor chip from intel work with my system ?? :confused: :confused: ..

    E6600 is a 2.40 Ghz C2D chip :eek: :eek:


    Intel has a E6800 <<IRCC thats a Quad Core Chip and I know for a fact that won't fit into a mini box
     

    Attached Files:

  2. brandon6684 Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    #2
    The E6600 is the socket 775 desktop variant, while the mini uses the socket M laptop chips. You'll need to find a socket M processor and the model numbers are usually preceded by a T rather than E, such as T6600.
     
  3. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #3
    Nope, that's a Conroe (desktop version of Core 2 Duo) - the mini uses mobile versions of the Core Duo (Yonah) processor. They are socketed and it is possible to upgrade them to Merom (mobile Core 2 Duo) processors but not Conroe processors.
     
  4. iPhil thread starter macrumors 68040

    iPhil

    #4
    Okay, so whats the fastest 'merom' mobile @ now .. 2.33 Ghz ?

    everytime i look on i get confused

    all the products are listed in number system not Ghz system :mad: :mad:
     
  5. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #5
    Yep, 2.33GHz is the fastest Merom processor around.
     
  6. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #6
    Try digging a little further... :)
     
  7. iPhil thread starter macrumors 68040

    iPhil

    #7
    okay.. Is the Mac mini a 478 pin config or 479 pin setup ?


    Apple doesn't post that anywhere on there site so how i am suppose figure that out ? :confused:
     
  8. mklos macrumors 68000

    mklos

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Location:
    My house!
    #8
    You could take the CPU out and count the holes. :p

    Apple isn't going post what exact CPU is in there because they don't want you taking it apart. I would make sure that the current cooling system will support a 2.33 GHz C2D before doing it. I'm pretty sure it will fit in there. Someone has had to of already tried this.
     

Share This Page