Mac Mini RAM Question

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by steamboat26, Aug 8, 2006.

  1. steamboat26 macrumors 65816

    steamboat26

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Location:
    Arlington VA
    #1
    I have a couple questions about my mac mini and RAM. Would i notice a huge increase if i were to put 2 GB of RAM in it? (i would be going from 1 GB). I have heard that the speed increase from 512 to 1 gig is much better than from 1 gig to 2 gigs. Also, so i don't void the warranty, can i just buy RAM from apple and have the genius bar install it, or do i have to install it myself?
     
  2. After G macrumors 68000

    After G

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #2
    You won't notice as much, except if you are maxing out your 1GB.

    And you can buy your RAM from Apple, but it's really expensive that way. I don't think Apple installs third party RAM that you buy either. But if you bought Applecare, or want peace of mind, do it that way.
     
  3. twoodcc macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #3
    if you can afford it, and you need/want it, i'd say go for it. if i had a mini, i'd put the full 2GB in it
     
  4. topgunn macrumors 65816

    topgunn

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Location:
    Texas
    #4
    Do you run a lot of non-universal apps or do you spend a lot of time in Parallels? Then 2GB should make an impact. Check your page-outs in the activity monitor. If you have a considerable about (varies depending on how long your machine has been running), then you may need more RAM. Since minis have slower hard drives compared to other desktops, if they are running low on memory, they can get very slow with all of the calls to the hard drive.
     
  5. steamboat26 thread starter macrumors 65816

    steamboat26

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Location:
    Arlington VA
    #5
    the only non universal app i run is microsoft office (i think thats the only one anyways). I never really max out my RAM, except that i get close when i am running handbrake, iphoto, several firefox pages, itunes, and some other apps.
     
  6. generik macrumors 601

    generik

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Location:
    Minitrue
    #6
    You can install the ram yourself without voiding the warranty. Just be sure to swop them back when sending it in for servicing.
     
  7. roland.g macrumors 603

    roland.g

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Location:
    One mile up and soaring
    #7
    I plan on putting 2GB in my Mini. But that's me. You can probably get away with 1GB just fine, but I never skimp on RAM.
     
  8. steamboat26 thread starter macrumors 65816

    steamboat26

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Location:
    Arlington VA
    #8
    This is true, but i don't trust myself to do it correctly without damaging my mini, even with a guide :eek:
     
  9. gadgetgirl85 macrumors 68040

    gadgetgirl85

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #9
    My mini runs fine with 1GB. Definitely better than 512.
     

Share This Page