Mac mini RAM Upgrade

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by CoMpX, Dec 25, 2005.

  1. CoMpX macrumors 65816

    CoMpX

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #1
    I'm sorry if this has been asked before, but I couldn't find anything when I did a search. I would like to buy 1GB of Crucial RAM to replace my 512MB of stock RAM. Will I void my 3 year AppleCare warranty if I install the RAM myself into the Mac mini?
     
  2. OutThere macrumors 603

    OutThere

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Location:
    NYC
    #2
    No. As long as you don't change anything else, your warranty will not be voided if you install extra memory. If you are really worried, it's best to have an Apple Authorized tech install it, then you're guaranteed security.
     
  3. CoMpX thread starter macrumors 65816

    CoMpX

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #3
    Thanks, thats what I thought, but I wasn't sure. So basically, if you don't break anything while you're inside the mini then you're good? I think I will just install the RAM myself.
     
  4. OutThere macrumors 603

    OutThere

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Location:
    NYC
    #4
    Basically, it's a pretty simple process if you follow a step by step guide to take it apart and install the memory.
     
  5. California macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #5
    As Samsung is Apple's OEM memory of choice, I prefer it when weighing warranty issues.
     
  6. CoMpX thread starter macrumors 65816

    CoMpX

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #6
    I did it. I bought a 1GB stick from PBFixit because they were cheaper than Crucial. I downloaded the instructions pdf and printed the screw template sheet. Should be here on Tuesday, I had my dad pay and extra $35 for next day air. :D Whish me luck! :) ;)
     
  7. NYmacAttack macrumors 6502

    NYmacAttack

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Location:
    NY
    #7
    Good Luck! The hardest part is popping the top off the first time. After that its pretty straight forward. :)
     
  8. mikemodena macrumors 6502a

    mikemodena

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Location:
    Connecticut
    #8
    When I did it to mine (now my mom's) the back never correctly snapped back into place.. I'm not quite the most hardware proficient though, I'm more of a software guy. Be really careful.
     
  9. pulsewidth947 macrumors 65816

    pulsewidth947

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Location:
    squarefrog.co.uk
    #9
    Do yourself a favour and watch the OWC Installation video (Scroll to the "Would you like to Do it Yourself?" bit). The hardest part is getting the mini open and closing it. The first time you do it you are really scared of breaking the tabs inside. Now I can pop open a Mini in less than a minute :D

    Replacing the Memory really is a cinch. Take the Mini top off, unclip the ram, clip in new ram, put the top back on. Boot up and enjoy that extra memory!
     
  10. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #10
    Apple's DDR DIMMs are just as likely to be Hynix as Samsung. Powerbook SODIMMs are primarily Samsung, but Apple can and does use a variety of RAM and hard drive suppliers that can change without notice.
     
  11. OutThere macrumors 603

    OutThere

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Location:
    NYC
    #11
    Taking apart computers, and small Macs in particular, requires pretty much an acquired sense of how much pressure to use and where...once you do a couple it comes relatively easily. Think of your minis as practice for future computers.
     
  12. CoMpX thread starter macrumors 65816

    CoMpX

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #12
    I thought that you have to take the hard drive/optical drive/fan caddy out in order to install the RAM. That's what PBFixit has you do.
     
  13. DanielNTX macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    #13
    No you don't have to. I've installed RAM in both of mine without doing that. The only time I had to remove the caddy is when I needed to do some OC modification on the system board.
     
  14. CoMpX thread starter macrumors 65816

    CoMpX

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #14
    Oh, ok. I will probably take the caddy off anyway because I also want to clean some of the dust out of there. Just by looking into the vents I can see a lot of dust built up. New RAM should be here tomorrow.
     
  15. TheMasin9 macrumors 6502a

    TheMasin9

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Location:
    Huber Heights, OH
    #15
    just did it

    i just did the surgery yesterday an it went quite well, my suggestion, use the putty knife starting at the left or right back edge and then work AROUND the minis edge loosening the clips, rather than going right side, left side. made it very easy for me.
     
  16. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #16
    We got a batch of Mac Mini's in at work and they ALL had Samsung memory. My iMac came with Samsung RAM too. I upgraded all those Mini's to 1 GB. I have a ton of 512 MB sticks laying around in my office.

    It's scary popping off the the top for the first time.
     
  17. CoMpX thread starter macrumors 65816

    CoMpX

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #17
    Thanks for the tip, I'll give that a try.
     
  18. HazelGirl macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    #18
    if u buy ram and then take it to the apple store, will they still install it or do u have to buy from apple?
     
  19. e²Studios macrumors 68020

    e²Studios

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    #19

    You have to buy it from Apple/that particular Apple store. When i asked this question to them they said that Apple will not let them install 3rd party products, you would have to buy the RAM from Apple or your local Apple store in order for them to install it for you.

    Ed
     
  20. Morn macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    #20
    Putting it back can be tricky, the top of the back ports area doesn't seem to like to stick back into the metal case. Make sure you put the back in place first.
     
  21. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #21
    The Apple Store might not, but an independent Apple dealer or service provider might, for a labour fee.
     
  22. CoMpX thread starter macrumors 65816

    CoMpX

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #22
    Well, I just performed the upgrade and everything went well. I can see a very large difference in speed from 512 to 1GB by using the Mac in the ways i normally do. The only slight problem was getting the cover back on correctly, which took a little while. Thanks everyone for your help!
     

Share This Page